East Hawaii News

Candidates Line Up for Open Mayoral Race

March 22, 2016, 4:54 PM HST
Listen to this Article
1 minute
Loading Audio...

The Hawaii County Office of Elections in Hilo. File photo.

The Hawaii County Office of Elections in Hilo. File photo.

Thirteen Hawai’i County Mayoral hopefuls have pulled papers, according to a campaign report issued by the Office of Elections.

The list includes six candidates who have filed their paperwork, including familiar names like former Mayor Harry Kim, who held the position from 2000 to 2008 and lost by two percentage points to current Mayor Billy Kenoi in 2012.

Former Kohala County Councilman Peter Hoffman is also among those who have filed paperwork, as is former county Managing Director Walter (Wally) Lau.

Paul Bryant, Timothy Waugh, and Eric Drake Weinert Jr. have also declared their candidacy by filing paperwork.

Several other names have been listed as those who have pulled papers, but have not yet declared their official run with the formal filing. Among them are Richard Abbett, Alvin Akina Jr., Gregory Arianoff, Jefferson Gourley, Wendall Ka’ehu’ae’a, Helen Olena Luta, and Shannon McCandless.


Candidate hopefuls have until June 7 to file their paperwork.


Mayor Billy Kenoi is term limited, finishing out the rest of his total eight-year run under investigation of county-issued purchasing card, known informally as p-card, misuse.

Subscribe to our Newsletter

Stay in-the-know with daily or weekly
headlines delivered straight to your inbox.
Mahalo for Subscribing


This comments section is a public community forum for the purpose of free expression. Although Big Island Now encourages respectful communication only, some content may be considered offensive. Please view at your own discretion. View Comments