East Hawaii News

E.B. de Silva Educator Receives District Award

October 17, 2015, 8:02 AM HST
* Updated October 18, 9:25 AM
Listen to this Article
1 minute
Loading Audio...

E.B. de Silva Elementary School teacher Darryl Yagi was awarded with the Hawai’i State Department of Education’s Hawai’i District Teacher of the Year award Friday.

Yagi was among six teachers to receive the honor and seven teachers recognized overall.

Stephanie Mew, a Kapunahala Elementary School teacher, was named Hawai’i’s 2016 State Teacher of the Year. She was awarded the state’s top teaching award by Governor David Ige and Deputy Superintendent Stephen Schatz at Washington Place.

“Stephanie helps her students to become good, well-balanced individuals by placing emphasis on the importance of character development, in addition to rigorous learning,” said Deputy Superintendent Stephen Schatz.  “Her dedicated service extends into the community as she makes presentations to teachers, parents and the public stressing the importance of education for our children.”

Mew will represent Hawai’i in the National Teacher of the Year Program. Each April, the President of the United States announces the national winner.


This comments section is a public community forum for the purpose of free expression. Although Big Island Now encourages respectful communication only, some content may be considered offensive. Please view at your own discretion. View Comments


Get a quick summary of what’s happening on the Big Island with our daily & weekly email of news highlights.