East Hawaii News

Two Big Island Principals Recognized for Leadership Excellence

March 26, 2015, 2:28 PM HST
Listen to this Article
1 minute
Loading Audio...

Two Big Island public school principals have been nominated for a leadership award by the Island Insurance Foundation.

Dean Cevallos of Kea‘au High School, and Dennis O’Brien of E.B. DeSilva Elementary School, will both be recognized among principals from 13 other public schools island wide during an award event for the Masayuki Tokioka Excellence in School Leadership Award.

The nominees will each receive a $1,000 cash prize and commemorative plaque. One nominee will receive a $25,000 award, with $10,000 for personal use and $15,000 for a school project determined by the principal. Two semifinalists will each receive a $2,000 personal cash prize.

The awards event will take place on Saturday, March 28 from 11:15 a.m.–12:45 p.m. at the Island Insurance Center meeting hall on Oahu. DOE representatives and Island Insurance Foundation President, Tyler Tokioka, will attend to congratulate the nominees. The finalist and semifinalists will be announced at the Public Schools of Hawaii Foundation Dinner on Thursday, April 30.

The leadership excellence award is named after the late founder of Island Insurance Company Ltd., Masayuki Tokioka.

Subscribe to our Newsletter

Stay in-the-know with daily or weekly
headlines delivered straight to your inbox.
Mahalo for Subscribing


This comments section is a public community forum for the purpose of free expression. Although Big Island Now encourages respectful communication only, some content may be considered offensive. Please view at your own discretion. View Comments