Tournament field announced for Mitsubishi Electric Championship at Hualālai

Listen to this Article
2 minutes
Loading Audio... Article will play after ad...
Playing in :00

The 42-player field is set for the season-opening Mitsubishi Electric Championship at Hualālai. The competition begins Jan. 18 and ends on Jan. 20, at Hualālai Four Seasons Resort golf course in North Kona.

Reigning Charles Schwab Cup winner Steve Stricker highlights the list of past champions, capturing the 2023 title at Hualālai, the first of his six victories during a record-breaking year on PGA TOUR Champions. Stricker will be joined by a pair of three-time winners of the Mitsubishi Electric Championship: Bernhard Langer (2009, 2014, 2017) and Miguel Ángel Jiménez (2015, 2020, 2022).

Past champions Jerry Kelly (2018), Tom Lehman (2019) and Darren Clarke (2021) will also open their 2024 season on Hawai‘i Island.

2009 Open Championship winner Stewart Cink headlines the list of four first-timers to the event next week. Cink will be joined by Ken Duke, Mark Hensby and Harrison Frazar, each of whom joined the winner’s circle for the first time on PGA TOUR Champions in 2023.


Six members of the World Golf Hall of Fame, including three-time champion Langer, are set to tee it up at Hualalai Golf Course. The 46-time winner on PGA TOUR Champions will be joined by fellow WGHOF members Fred Couples, Ernie Els, Colin Montgomerie, Mark O’Meara and Vijay Singh.

Other notables in the field for the season-opening Mitsubishi Electric Championship at Hualālai include 2022 Charles Schwab Cup winner Steven Alker, four-time winner in 2023 Stephen Ames, 2023 Senior Open champion Alex Cejka and Jay Haas, who is making his 19th consecutive start at Hualālai, most among all players in the 2024 field.

See below for the full list of competitors:

  • Steven Alker
  • Stephen Ames
  • Billy Andrade
  • Paul Broadhurst
  • Olin Browne
  • Alex Cejka
  • K.J. Choi
  • Stewart Cink
  • Darren Clarke
  • Fred Couples
  • Marco Dawson
  • Stephen Dodd
  • Ken Duke
  • Joe Durant
  • David Duval
  • Ernie Els
  • Steve Flesch
  • Harrison Frazar
  • Jay Haas
  • Mark Hensby
  • Thongchai Jaidee
  • Lee Janzen
  • Miguel Angel Jimenez
  • Jerry Kelly
  • Bernhard Langer
  • Tom Lehman
  • Justin Leonard
  • Scott McCarron
  • Rocco Mediate
  • Colin Montgomerie
  • Mark O’Meara
  • Rod Pampling
  • Scott Parel
  • Corey Pavin
  • Dicky Pride
  • Brett Quigley
  • Vijay Singh
  • Jeff Sluman
  • Steve Stricker
  • Ken Tanigawa
  • David Toms
  • Mike Weir


Sponsored Content

Subscribe to our Newsletter

Stay in-the-know with daily or weekly
headlines delivered straight to your inbox.


This comments section is a public community forum for the purpose of free expression. Although Big Island Now encourages respectful communication only, some content may be considered offensive. Please view at your own discretion. View Comments