42-player field set for senior PGA tournament Jan. 19-21 at Hualālai on Big Island

Listen to this Article
2 minutes
Loading Audio... Article will play after ad...
Playing in :00

Justin Leonard turned 50 on June 15, 2022. Courtesy: PGA Tour

The 42-player field is set for the PGA Tour Champions season-opener: the Mitsubishi Electric Championship at Hualālai on the Big Island.

The seniors tournament runs Jan. 19-21 at Hualālai Golf Course. 

“Each year the field at Hualālai is second to none, and that is no different in 2023,” said Tournament Manager Kelly Fliear. “This year, we welcome first-timers Justin Leonard and Thongchai Jaidee to Hualālai, in addition to bringing back several past champions and World Golf Hall of Fame members.” 


Leonard is the 1997 Open Champion and reigning American Family Insurance Championship winner. He turned 50 on June 15, 2022, the cutoff age for the seniors tour. He made four starts last season, with two top-20 finishes. 

Jaidee finished No. 7 in the final Charles Schwab Cup standings last season after notching 11 top-10s, including four top-3s in 21 starts. 

The field also includes seven World Golf Hall of Fame members: Bernhard Langer, Mark O’Meara, Fred  Couples, Vijay Singh, Ernie Els, Retief Goosen and Colin Montgomerie.


Langer is a three-time winner of the Mitsubishi Electric Championship at Hualālai (2009, 2014, 2017). 

Additional past champions returning to Hualālai in 2023 are Darren Clarke (2021), Fred Funk (2008), Miguel Ángel Jiménez (2015, 2020, 2022), Jerry Kelly (2018) and Tom Lehman (2019). 

In all, the season-opening field includes 15 PGA Tour major winners, 24 PGA Tour Champions major winners, 32 PGA Tour winners (260 wins) and 40 PGA Tour Champions winners (237 wins). 


All three rounds of the 2023 Mitsubishi Electric Championship at Hualālai will be televised live on the GOLF Channel. For more information about the tournament and ticket information, visit

Complete Tournament Field: 

  • Steven Alker 
  • Michael Allen 
  • Stephen Ames 
  • Doug Barron 
  • Cameron Beckman
  • Paul Broadhurst 
  • Olin Browne 
  • Alex Cejka 
  • K.J. Choi 
  • Darren Clarke (2021 champion) 
  • Fred Couples 
  • Stephen Dodd 
  • Joe Durant 
  • David Duval 
  • Ernie Els 
  • Steve Flesch 
  • David Frost 
  • Fred Funk (2008 champion) 
  • Retief Goosen 
  • Jay Haas 
  • Thongchai Jaidee 
  • Lee Janzen 
  • Miguel Ángel Jiménez (2015, 2020, 2022 champion) Jerry Kelly (2018 champion) 
  • Bernhard Langer (2009, 2014, 2017 champion) Tom Lehman (2019 champion) 
  • Justin Leonard 
  • Scott McCarron 
  • Rocco Mediate 
  • Colin Montgomerie 
  • Mark O’Meara 
  • Rod Pampling 
  • Scott Parel 
  • Corey Pavin 
  • Dicky Pride 
  • Vijay Singh 
  • Jeff Sluman 
  • Steve Stricker 
  • Kevin Sutherland 
  • Ken Tanigawa 
  • David Toms 
  • Mike Weir 

Sponsored Content

Subscribe to our Newsletter

Stay in-the-know with daily or weekly
headlines delivered straight to your inbox.


This comments section is a public community forum for the purpose of free expression. Although Big Island Now encourages respectful communication only, some content may be considered offensive. Please view at your own discretion. View Comments