Several State Parks on Big Island to Close For Independence Day

June 28, 2021, 11:35 AM HST
Listen to this Article
1 minute
Loading Audio...

Several state parks across Hawai’i will be closed for the Fourth of July holiday.

The DLNR Division of State Parks will close the following sites at 5 pm on Sunday, July 4: 

  • Kekaha Kai State Park, the Manini’owali (Kua Bay) section. The Mahai’ula section will be closed that day. 
  • Hapuna Beach State Recreation Area, including the Waialea Bay section. 
  • Lapakahi State Park. 
  • Kiholo State Park Reserve.

The DLNR said in a press release that the early closure of these facilities is to discourage the use of fireworks, which are prohibited in state parks, and to protect people and the natural resources of the parks.

Regular park hours will resume Monday, July 5.

Subscribe to our Newsletter

Stay in-the-know with daily or weekly
headlines delivered straight to your inbox.
Mahalo for Subscribing


This comments section is a public community forum for the purpose of free expression. Although Big Island Now encourages respectful communication only, some content may be considered offensive. Please view at your own discretion. View Comments (5)