Senate Leadership & Committee Chairs Announced

Listen to this Article
1 minute
Loading Audio... Article will play after ad...
Playing in :00

Hawai‘i Senate President Ronald D. Kouchi has announced the Senate leadership and committee chairs for the upcoming Thirtieth Legislative Biennium 2019 through 2020.


  • President: Sen. Ronald D. Kouchi
  • Vice President: Sen. Michelle N. Kidani
  • Majority Leader: Sen. J. Kalani English
  • Majority Floor Leader: Sen. Kaiali‘i Kahele
  • Majority Caucus Leader: Sen. Dru Kanuha
  • Majority Policy Leader: Sen. Les Ihara, Jr.
  • Majority Whip: Sen. Lorraine R. Inouye
  • Assistant Majority Whip: Sen. Brian Taniguchi
  • Assistant Majority Whip: Sen. Gilbert S.C. Keith-Agaran
  • Assistant Majority Whip: Sen. Clarence K. Nishihara

Committee Chairs:

  • Agriculture and Environment: Sen. Mike Gabbard
  • Commerce, Consumer Protection and Health: Sen. Rosalyn H. Baker
  • Education: Sen. Michelle N. Kidani
  • Energy, Economic Development and Tourism: Sen. Glenn Wakai
  • Government Operations: Sen. Laura H. Thielen
  • Hawaiian Affairs: Sen. Maile S.L. Shimabukuro
  • Higher Education: Sen. Donna Mercado Kim
  • Housing: Sen. Stanley Chang
  • Human Services: Sen. Russell E. Ruderman
  • Judiciary: Sen. Karl Rhoads
  • Labor, Culture and Arts: Sen. Brian T. Taniguchi
  • Public Safety, Intergovernmental and Military Affairs: Sen. Clarence K. Nishihara
  • Technology: Sen. Jarrett Keohokalole
  • Transportation: Sen. Lorraine R. Inouye
  • Water and Land: Sen. Kaiali‘i Kahele
  • Ways and Means: Sen. Donovan M. Dela Cruz


Sponsored Content

Subscribe to our Newsletter

Stay in-the-know with daily or weekly
headlines delivered straight to your inbox.


This comments section is a public community forum for the purpose of free expression. Although Big Island Now encourages respectful communication only, some content may be considered offensive. Please view at your own discretion. View Comments