Featured Articles

UH-Hilo’s Gaspar Earns All-American Honor

May 13, 2016, 5:34 PM HST
Listen to this Article
2 minutes
Loading Audio...

UH-Hilo sophomore Bailey Gaspar. UH-Hilo photo.

UH-Hilo sophomore Bailey Gaspar. UH-Hilo photo.

Fresh off the heels of receiving several regional awards, University of Hawai’i at Hilo sophomore Bailey Gaspar received All-American recognition from the National Fastpitch Coaches Association on Friday.

Gaspar, a utility player from Vancouver, Wash., was named to the All-NFCA All-American second team list under the designated player category.

In her debut season at UH-Hilo, Gaspar batted .415 with six home runs, nine doubles, and 36 runs batted in. In league competition, she led the PacWest Conference with a .506 batting average and .807 slugging percentage.

“I am so excited for this newest achievement for Bailey,” said Peejay Brun, UH-Hilo head softball coach. “We both took a chance on each other and everything fell into place for her. She works hard both on and off the field. She deserves every bit of this recognition.”

Already this month, Gaspar has been recognized as an NFCA and NCAA Division II Conference Commissioners Association West Region selection. The PacWest Conference placed her on its all-conference second team, and UH-Hilo named her its Female Student Athlete of the Year.


2016 National Fastpitch Coaches Association Division II All-American Awards


First Team

Pitcher – Courtney Poole (North Georgia), Morgan Foley (Indianapolis), Hannah Perryman (Missouri St. Louis)

Catcher – Haley Hodges (Southern Indiana), Lacey Taylor (West Texas A&M)


First Base – Brooklynn Clark (North Alabama)

Second Base – Jessica Simmons (Southeastern Oklahoma State)

Third Base – Kaitlyn Bannister (Arkansas-Huntsville), Breanna Martini (Adelphi)

Shortstop – Makayla Kovac (Colorado Mesa)

Outfield – Stephanie Hartness (North Georgia), Kelsey Vining (Montevallo), Courtney Iacobacci (Fairmont State)

Designated Player – Ashlyn White (Henderson State)

Utility-Pitcher – Lyndsay Butler (Wayne State)

Utility-Non Pitcher – Rhiannon Sassman (West Florida)

At-Large/First Base – Kat Zabielski (New York Institute of Technology)

Second Team

Pitcher – Carley Tysinger (Catawba College), Katie Obbema (Humboldt State), Madison Williams (Humboldt State)

Catcher – Marissa Monasseri (Caldwell), Emily Dagnan (Lee)

First Base – Kate Ruwe (Nebraska-Kearney)

Second Base – Nicki Sprague (Azusa Pacific)

Third Base – Jade McGarr (Wayne State)

Shortstop – Morgan Heard (Central Oklahoma)

Outfield – Lexie Loos (Wayne State), Brooke Goad (Southern Arkansas), Hanna Holland (Humboldt State)

Designated Player – Bailey Gaspar (Hawai’i-Hilo)

Utility-Pitcher – Ally Foster (Bellarmine)

Utility-Non Pitcher – London Miller (California Baptist)

At-Large/Outfield – Janessa Bassett (Dixie State)

Third Team

Pitcher – Kilee Halbert (West Texas A&M)

Catcher – Shannon Daly (Sioux Falls)

First Base – Kiley Rusen (Valdosta State)

Second Base – Charlotte Romero (Colorado Christian)

Third Base – Morgan Colburn (Lubbock Colburn)

Shortstop – Taylor Kline (Ohio Dominican)

Outfield – Tealey Farquahr (Texas Women’s)

At-Large/Pitcher – Stephanie Atkins (St. Leo), Alex Sagl (California University-Pennsylvania), Coley Ries (Minnesota State)

At-Large/First Base – Sydney Wellmann (St. Mary’s)

At-Large/Second Base – Brooklyn Waddell (West Virginia Wesleyan College)

At-Large/Utility-Pitcher – Jalissa Gum (Arkansas Tech)

Subscribe to our Newsletter

Stay in-the-know with daily or weekly
headlines delivered straight to your inbox.
Mahalo for Subscribing


This comments section is a public community forum for the purpose of free expression. Although Big Island Now encourages respectful communication only, some content may be considered offensive. Please view at your own discretion. View Comments