PacWest Honors UH-Hilo Men’s Tennis Trio

May 13, 2016, 2:16 PM HST
Listen to this Article
1 minute
Loading Audio...

From l-r: Kainoa Rosa, Greg Zukeran, Stefan Coney. UH-Hilo photos.

From l-r: Kainoa Rosa, Greg Zukeran, Stefan Coney. UH-Hilo photos.

Three University of Hawai’i at Hilo men’s tennis players received postseason recognition from the PacWest Conference this week.

Kainoa Rosa, a senior from Federal Way, Wash., was named to the All-PacWest Men’s Tennis second team in singles this year, improving on last year’s third team selection. He, along with sophomore Stefan Coney, was also named to the All-PacWest Men’s Tennis third time for doubles.

For Rosa, he earned the doubles honor for a second year in a row, while Coney received his first All-PacWest Men’s Tennis award.

Also receiving his first all-conference award was Greg Zukeran, a freshman from Honolulu. He was named to the All-PacWest Third Team in singles competition.

UH-Hilo, under first-year head coach Tina McDermott, finished the 2016 season with a 6-11 record.


All-PacWest Men’s Tennis – Singles


First Team

Thibaud Berland (Sr.), Hawai’i Pacific

Jan Meyer (Sr.), Azusa Pacific


Alexander Meyer (Fr.), Hawai’i Pacific

Jaume Martinez-Vich (Sr.), Hawai’i Pacific

Andre Staab (Sr.), Point Loma Nazarene

Christian Schmid (Jr.), Azusa Pacific

Second Team

Til Guttenberger (Sr.), Concordia

Matthew Halligan (Jr.), Holy Names

Martin Blaho (Jr.), Point Loma Nazarene

Kainoa Rosa (Sr.), Hawai’i-Hilo

Alan Leahy (Jr.), Azusa Pacific

Filip Burnac (Sr.), Concordia

Third Team

Filip Dolezel (So.), Hawai’i Pacific

Hugo Colpart (Fr.), Holy Names

Guillermo Ucelay (Jr.), BYU-Hawai’i

Andrew Amor (Sr.), Holy Names

Greg Zukeran (Fr.), Hawai’i-Hilo

All-PacWest Men’s Tennis – Doubles

First Team

Thibaud Berland (Sr.)/Alexander Meyer (Fr.), Hawai’i Pacific

Jan Meyer (Sr.)/Olger van Gent (Fr.), Azusa Pacific

Daniel Milliken (Sr.)/Andre Staab (Sr.), Azusa Pacific

Second Team

Matthew Halligan (Jr.)/Hugo Colpart (Fr.), Holy Names

Guillermo Ucelay (Jr.)/Simon Guillin (Jr.), BYU-Hawai’i

Filip Dolezel (So.)/Jaume Martinez-Vich (Sr.), Hawai’i Pacific

Third Team

Kainoa Rosa (Sr.)/Stefan Coney (So.), Hawai’i-Hilo

Till Guttenberger (Sr.)/Daniel Reddmann (Fr.), Concordia

Blaine Mengert (Jr.)/Logan Liddell (Sr.), Sonoma State

PacWest Co-Player of the Year: Thibaud Berland (Hawai’i Pacific) and Jan Meyer (Azusa Pacific)

PacWest Co-Newcomer of the Year: Filip Burnac (Concordia) and Christian Schmid (Azusa Pacific)

Freshman of the Year: Alexander Meyer (Hawai’i Pacific)

Coach of the Year: Hendrik Bode (Hawai’i Pacific)

Subscribe to our Newsletter

Stay in-the-know with daily or weekly
headlines delivered straight to your inbox.
Mahalo for Subscribing


This comments section is a public community forum for the purpose of free expression. Although Big Island Now encourages respectful communication only, some content may be considered offensive. Please view at your own discretion. View Comments