UH-Hilo’s Gaspar Earns All-NFCA First Team Regional Honor

May 6, 2016, 3:51 PM HST
Listen to this Article
1 minute
Loading Audio...

UH-Hilo sophomore Bailey Gaspar. UH-Hilo photo.

UH-Hilo sophomore Bailey Gaspar. UH-Hilo photo.

University of Hawai’i at Hilo sophomore Bailey Gaspar was named to the All-National Fastpitch Coaches Association’s West Region first team.

Gaspar, from Vancouver, Wash., batted .415 with six home runs, nine doubles, and 36 runs batted in. During PacWest Conference play, she hit .506.

“Bailey has been such a great addition to the Vulcan family,” UH-Hilo Head Coach Peejay Brun said in a school release. “She kept studying her videos and putting in the extra work to keep getting better until the very end.

Earlier this week, Gaspar was selected to the All-PacWest Second Team. She was also recognized as UH-Hilo’s Female Athlete of the Year.

A total of 11 players from throughout the PacWest Conference were selected to the All-NFCA West Region first and second teams.


2016 NFCA Division II All-West Region


First Team

Pitcher – Madison Williams, Humboldt State

Pitcher – Katie Obbema, Humboldt State


Catcher – Madison Hernandez, Azusa Pacific

First Base – Kailyn Campbell, Central Washington

Second Base – Nicki Sprague, Azusa Pacific

Third Base – Taylor Copher, Concordia University Portland

Shortstop – Krista Mann, California Baptist University

Outfield – Hanna Holland, Humboldt State

Outfield – Janessa Bassett, Dixie State

Outfield – Meghan Luebbert, Concordia University Portland

Designated Player – Bailey Gaspar, University of Hawai’i at Hilo

Utility-Pitcher – Bianca Noriega, California State University, Monterey Bay

Utility-Non-Pitcher – London Miller, California Baptist University

Second Team

Pitcher – Grayson Harvey, Concordia University Irvine

Pitcher – Ashley Coleman, California Baptist University

Catcher – Austin Wilkerson, Central Washington

First Base – Cyrena Taylor, California State University, Chico

Second Base – Tiffany Hollingsworth – Humboldt State

Third Base – Maddy Lewis, University of California, San Diego

Shortstop – Cayla Broussard, Azusa Pacific University

Outfield – Ryann Ferguson, Concordia University Irvine

Outfield – Jordan Mowatt, California Baptist University

Outfield – Kelsi Maday, University of California, San Diego

Designated Player – Desiree Gonzalea, California State University, Chico

Utility-Pitcher – Sierra Clark, California State University, East Bay

Utility-Non-Pitcher – Carlie Daniel, Sonoma State University

Subscribe to our Newsletter

Stay in-the-know with daily or weekly
headlines delivered straight to your inbox.
Mahalo for Subscribing


This comments section is a public community forum for the purpose of free expression. Although Big Island Now encourages respectful communication only, some content may be considered offensive. Please view at your own discretion. View Comments