Featured Articles

Enriques Named AVCA All-American

May 3, 2016, 3:05 PM HST
Listen to this Article
1 minute
Loading Audio...

Stanford's Evan Enriques collects a dig against the University of Saskatchewan. Photo courtesy: Hector Garcia Molina/StanfordPhoto.com

Stanford’s Evan Enriques collects a dig against the University of Saskatchewan. Photo courtesy: Hector Garcia Molina/StanfordPhoto.com

Kamehameha-Hawai’i graduate and Stanford University sophomore Evan Enriques continues to tally postseason volleyball honors.

Enriques was named to the American Volleyball Coaches Association’s Division I-II Men’s First Team All-America list, as announced Monday by the AVCA.

Stanford placed three on the AVCA’s First Team list, headed by Enriques, who gobbled up 2.53 digs per set this season. Opponents put up a .247 hitting percentage on him while he was on the hardwood.

Last month, Enriques was named to the All-Mountain Pacific Sports Federation’s Second Team.

Stanford finished the season with a 19-6 overall record.


American Volleyball Coaches Association Division I-II All-America Teams


First Team

Outside Hitter – TJ DeFalco (Long Beach State), Brenden Sander (BYU), Nicolas Szerszen (Ohio State)

Libero – Evan Enriques (Stanford)


Right Side Hitter – Miles Johnson (Ohio State), Ben Patch (BYU)

Middle Blocker – Conrad Kaminski (Stanford), Bobby Walsh (Lewis)

Setter/Hitter – Micah Ma’a (UCLA)

Setter – James Shaw (Stanford)

Second Team

Outside Hitter – Jake Arnitz (UCLA), Jake Langlois (BYU), Sinisa Zarkovic (Hawai’i)

Setter – Christy Blough (Ohio State), Josh Tuaniga (Long Beach State)

Middle Blocker – Taylor Gregory (Long Beach State), Jeff Jendryk (Loyola University-Chicago), Mitch Stahl (UCLA)

Libero – Kolby Kanetake (Hawai’i)

Right Side Hitter – Matt Tarantino (Pepperdine)

Honorable Mention

Libero – Luis Bertran (IPFW), Gabriel Domecus (Ohio State), Johnny Gomez (George Mason), Andrew Sato (Long Beach State)

Middle Blocker – Tommy Carmody (Pepperdine), Enrique de Diego Garcia (California Baptist), Mike Marshman (Saint Francis), Nick Olson (Loyola University-Chicago), Jacob Schmiegelt (Lewis)

Right Side Hitter – Branden Clemens (Harvard), Mitch Perinar (Lewis), Andrew Sellan (IPFW)

Setter – Leo Durkin (BYU), Peter Hutz (Loyola University-Chicago), Jonah Seif (UC Santa Barbara)

Outside Hitter – Jabarry Goodridge (NJIT), Madison Hayden (Stanford), Gerrard Lipscombe (Grand Canyon), Michael Michelau (Erskine), Chris Nugent (Penn State)

AVCA Division I-II Newcomer of the Year – TJ DeFalco (Long Beach State)

Subscribe to our Newsletter

Stay in-the-know with daily or weekly
headlines delivered straight to your inbox.
Mahalo for Subscribing


This comments section is a public community forum for the purpose of free expression. Although Big Island Now encourages respectful communication only, some content may be considered offensive. Please view at your own discretion. View Comments