East Hawaii News

Ige Names ESSA Team Members

April 29, 2016, 10:38 AM HST
Listen to this Article
2 minutes
Loading Audio...

school students pixabayGovernor David Ige announced the names of the newly selected members of the Governor’s Team on ESSA, Every Student Succeeds Act, on Thursday.

The team will collaboratively develop a blueprint for Hawai’i’s public schools that is consistent with ESSA and maximize opportunities and possibilities for Hawai’i to transform education.

Governor Ige selected the team members based on recommendations and applications. Senate President Ronald Kouchi and House Speaker Joe Souki each included a recommendation.

“Our goal was to get a good cross-section of stakeholders with diverse backgrounds and experiences,” said Governor Ige. “The work of the ESSA team will be an inclusive process that will involve town meetings and a summit to allow all to participate.”

Darrel Galera was appointed as chairman of the ESSA team in early April.


The complete list of members includes:

  • Philip Bossert – Community member, Director of Strategic & International Program, HAIS
  • Catherine Caine – Elementary School Teacher, Waikīkī Elementary
  • Kamana‘opono Crabbe – CEO – Office of Hawaiian Affairs
  • Darrel Galera – Chairperson, Executive Director, Education Institute of Hawai’i
  • Keith Hayashi – Principal, Waipahu High School
  • Michelle Kidani – State Senator, Chair of Senate Education Committee
  • Brennan Lee – Student, State Student Council
  • Ann Mahi – DOE Complex Area Superintendent Waianae/Nanakuli
  • Hubert Minn – Member, Board of Education
  • Lauren Moriguchi – Executive Director, Office of Early Learning
  • Steve Nakasato – Principal, Pearl Ridge Elementary School
  • Alan Oshima – President, CEO Hawaiian Electric Co.
  • Catherine Payne – Chairperson, Charter Schools Commission
  • Amy Perruso – Teacher, Mililani High School
  • Stacey Roberts – UH Professor, Chair of Educational Administration Program
  • Carol Shikada – DOE Educational Specialist (Kaua‘i)
  • Linda Takayama – Workforce – Director of Labor & Industrial Relations
  • Stephen Terstegge – Parent/Military, Castle High School
  • Takashi Ohno – State Representative

The ESSA team will ultimately be responsible for assessing the current public school system and identifying areas of need. The team met for the first time on Thursday.

Over the summer, an Education Summit will be scheduled to give organizations and individuals an opportunity to discuss possibilities for a future-focused education system and solicit input on key recommendations to the state’s ESSA plan.

Subscribe to our Newsletter

Stay in-the-know with daily or weekly
headlines delivered straight to your inbox.
Mahalo for Subscribing


This comments section is a public community forum for the purpose of free expression. Although Big Island Now encourages respectful communication only, some content may be considered offensive. Please view at your own discretion. View Comments