East Hawaii News

83rd Hawai’i Police Department Recruit Class

Listen to this Article
2 minutes
Loading Audio... Article will play after ad...
Playing in :00

The Hawai’i Police Department recognized it’s 83rd Recruit Class at a ceremony held at the Hilo Hawaiian Hotel on Tuesday.

Recruits have completed six months of intensive training and will now undergo four month of on-the-job field training with veteran police officers.

According to Class President Adam M.K. Cho, the recruits have built a strong bond over the course of their training.

“Imua e na ikaika Loa” was chosen as their class motto, meaning “the mighty push forward.”


“This motto represents us with our motivation and drive for whatever was thrown our way,” Cho said.

Family and friends gathered at the ceremony as each police recruit was pinned with new police badges.

The badge is a symbol of public trust, according to HPD Chief Harry Kubojiri, who told the recruits to “keep it always shining as an example of your inner self.”


At the ceremony, Mayor Billy Kenoi told the recruits that out of 2,500 county employees, only 400 are presented with a gun, a badge, and the power to make arrests, leaving them with an “incredible responsibility.”

Also present at the ceremony was Circuit Court Judge Ronald Ibarra, who emphasized the importance of credibility, humility, courtesy, objectivity, awareness that the public is watching, expectation of the unexpected, and common sense.

Police Commissioner Robert Gomes, a retired police officer who continues to work as a reserve officer, told recruits that it’s “a great honor” to become a member of the HPD.


Deputy Prosecutor Ricky Roy Damerville was the keynote speaker of the ceremony and stressed that members of the public who come into contact with any police officer is a “future juror” who can form an option about police officers as a group, noting that “being polite pays off.”

Three officers received special recognition for excellence. Terence G. Scanlan Jr., Christopher R.. Barto, and Bryson K. Pilor each received awards for academics, firearms, and fitness, respectively.

Sheldon M. Adviento, Tristin C. K. Allen, Joshua K. Baumgarner, Roger W. B. Carvalho Jr., Wilson A. Gani, Conrad S. K. Iranon, Brian H. Kohara, Chance K. K. Lunsford, Keenanlee K. P. Ouranitsas, Jason W. K. Rabang, Chad S. P. Sato, and Dayson K. Taniguchi make up the remainder of the 83rd Recruit Class.

Sponsored Content

Subscribe to our Newsletter

Stay in-the-know with daily or weekly
headlines delivered straight to your inbox.


This comments section is a public community forum for the purpose of free expression. Although Big Island Now encourages respectful communication only, some content may be considered offensive. Please view at your own discretion. View Comments