East Hawaii News

Ige Releases ‘Governor’s Awards’

October 2, 2015, 4:40 PM HST
* Updated October 2, 4:42 PM
Listen to this Article
2 minutes
Loading Audio...

Governor’s Awards given by Governor David Ige were announced on Friday to Daniel Hanagami, State Manager of the Year; Steve Keahi, Employee of the Year; and the Department of Health’s HIV Data to Care Team, State Team of the Year.

The awards were designed to honor State Executive Branch employees, managers, and teams who show the highest level of public service and dedication to the people of Hawai’i.

Each year, the statewide program is administered by the Department of Human Resources Development.

“Public employees have made important contributions to our continuing efforts to improve the efficiency and quality of government services,” said Governor Ige.  “We are honored to work with such dedicated individuals and appreciate all they do each and every day.”

Chief Special Investigator Hanagami works for the Department of the Attorney General. He earned the award of State Manager of the Year for being an outstanding manager who has raised the Investigations Division to a high level of achievement.


Keahi is an Airport Firefighter with the Department of Transportation. The Employee of the Year award went to Keahi for going above the call of duty to make the Kahului Airport Rescue & Fire Fighting unit one of the best in the country. He has designed and built simulated training aids for the firefighters, which have helped to protect the public.


The Department of Health’s HIV Data to Care Team, which received the State Team of the Year award, is made up of 13 individuals who have adopted an innovative peer-based leadership method to treating patients with the HIV virus. Through the program, individuals with HIV who are not receiving care are engaged into care and support.

“These individuals have selflessly given of themselves to enrich the lives of those they service,” said Governor Ige. “Their accomplishments perpetuate the aloha spirit and make our state a special place to live and work.”

Fifty people were nominated for the awards. A volunteer Selection Committee made up of outstanding community members reviewed the nomination packets and rated each individual. Governor Ige received their recommendations.


The 2015 Selection Committee was made up of Robbie Dingeman, Editor of Honolulu Magazine; Ellen Kitamura, Deputy Manager of the Board of Water Supply; Shari Chang, Chief Executive Officer of the Girl Scouts of Hawai’i; Kamakana Kaimuloa, Vice President of the Chamber of Commerce of Hawai’i; and David Lim, General Manager of KJ International Corporation.


This comments section is a public community forum for the purpose of free expression. Although Big Island Now encourages respectful communication only, some content may be considered offensive. Please view at your own discretion. View Comments


Get a quick summary of what’s happening on the Big Island with our daily & weekly email of news highlights.