Hilo Golfers Victorious at Hualalai Junior Classic

September 8, 2015, 3:07 PM HST
* Updated September 8, 3:09 PM
Listen to this Article
1 minute
Loading Audio...

Isaiah Kanno and Pono Yanagi of Hilo were both victorious in their respective divisions at the third annual Hualalai Junior Classic, held Sept. 5-6 at Hualalai Golf Course.

Kanno bested seven other golfers in the Boys 11-12 year old division, shooting a seven-over-par 151, including a final round 71 on the par-72 course. His score was five strokes better than Honolulu’s Jake David Sequin and Kelly Chinn.

Yanagi, meanwhile, stayed consistent with two rounds of 75, finishing at six-over-par for the tournament. He was two strokes better than Honolulu’s Davis Lee.

Last weekend’s event was put on by the Hawaii State Junior Golf Association. Its next event is the Kiahuna Junior Classic, held Oct. 3-4 on the island of Kauai.

2015 Hualalai Junior Classic results


Boys 7-10


Joshua Satonaka Chung (+9)

Ariihau J Fauna (+12)

Dysen Park (+25)


Dillon Ikaika Jonke (+32)

Noah Otani (+41)

Jake Otani (+82)

Boys 11-12

Isaiah Kanno (+7)

Jake David Sequin (+12)

Kelly Chinn (+12)

Dillon Ah Chong (+20)

Noah Koshi (+22)

Marshall Y Kim Jr. (+22)

Aidan Oki (+28)

Isaac Inouye (+42)

Girls 11-12

Alison Takamiya (+5)

Kaylee Akagi (+8)

Lacey Uchida (+12)

Kailey Oki (+18)

Elle Otani (+38)

Arenui H Faana (+41)

Megan Kimata (+42)

Sophie Chikako Christopher (+66)

Boys 13-14

Pono Yanagi (+6)

Davis Lee (+8)

Kolbe Irei (+11)

Jordan Terada (+15)

Riku Omata (+30)

Riley Kaneshiro (+31)

Jamie Ebersole (+35)

Ethan M Hironaga (+35)

Girls 13-14

Millburn Ho (+13)

Reese Guzman (+14)

Kamie Hamada (+15)

Mari Ebersole (+19)

Nicolle A Nitta (+30)

Kaelyn Uchida (+34)

Tia Q Kualii (+37)

Boys 15-18

Justin Ngan (+1)

Justin Arcano (+5)

Shon Katahira (+5)

Trevor Hirata (+7)

Andrew Otani (+8)

Kengo Aoshima (+9)

Trevor Arashiro (+9)

John Kaylan Dumo (+11)

Robert Choi (+11)

Preston-Lee Ching (+19)

Acey Yanagishita (+20)

Girls 15-18

Tuan-yu Chiang (E)

Jasmine Cabajar (+8)

Danielle Ujimori (+9)

Zoey Akagi-Bustin (+10)

Caitlyn Villatora (+10)

Caylyn Villatora (+26)

Annika Espino (+31)

Subscribe to our Newsletter

Stay in-the-know with daily or weekly
headlines delivered straight to your inbox.
Mahalo for Subscribing


This comments section is a public community forum for the purpose of free expression. Although Big Island Now encourages respectful communication only, some content may be considered offensive. Please view at your own discretion. View Comments