East Hawaii News

Senate Passes Asian Pacific American Heritage Month

May 28, 2015, 1:18 PM HST
* Updated May 28, 1:21 PM
Listen to this Article
2 minutes
Loading Audio...

Senator Mazie Hirono’s bipartisan resolution to recognize May as Asian Pacific American Heritage Month has passed in the United States Senate.

Contributions and progress made by the Asian American and Pacific Islander community were celebrated by Senator Hirono throughout APA Heritage Month, including introducing key legislation and attending Heritage Month festivities.

“Over the course of this month, I’ve met dynamic Asian American and Pacific Islander leaders who continue to build upon the achievements and foundation laid by Asian American Pacific Islander trailblazers.” said Senator Hirono. “‎In recognition of APA heritage month, I led a bipartisan group of Senators in passing a resolution recognizing the contributions of leaders, including Senators Daniel K. Inouye, Daniel K. Akaka, and Representative Patsy T. Mink, and the powerful voice that Asian Americans and Pacific Islanders will lend to shaping our country’s future. I am proud to lead several legislative efforts that will keep America’s promise to Compact of Free Association migrants, improve data on AAPI students, and fight diseases disproportionately affecting the AAPI community. Although the AAPI community has made great strides in recent years, there is much work to be done in addressing the unique needs of our community. I will continue working with my colleagues in Congress to accomplish these goals.”

During the month, Senator Hirono introduced legislation to support Asian Americans and Pacific Islanders. The legislation would reinstate Medicaid eligibility for Compact of Free Association migrants. In addition, she led Senate Democrats in celebrating Asian American, Pacific Islander, and Native Hawaiian heritage month. She discussed the importance of recognizing the AAPI community’s unique differences and continuing to grow the pipeline of AAPI leaders. Senator Hirono also highlighted her push for important legislation.

A large bipartisan coalition cosponsored Senator Hirono’s resolution, including: Senators Brian Schatz, Hawai’i; Harry Reid, Nevada; Patty Murray, Washington; Tim Kaine, Virginia; Mark Kirk, Illinois; Dean Heller, Nevada; Ben Cardin, Maryland; Maria Cantwell, Washington; Cory Gardner, Colorado; Richard Durbin, Illinois; Bob Menendez, New Jersey; Sherrod Brown, Ohio; Al Franken, Minnesota; Ron Wyden, Oregon; Bob Casey, Pennsylvania; Dianne Feinstein, California; Ed Markey, Massachusetts; and Amy Klobuchar, Minnesota.

Subscribe to our Newsletter

Stay in-the-know with daily or weekly
headlines delivered straight to your inbox.
Mahalo for Subscribing


This comments section is a public community forum for the purpose of free expression. Although Big Island Now encourages respectful communication only, some content may be considered offensive. Please view at your own discretion. View Comments