East Hawaii News

UH Hilo 2015 Chancellor Scholars Named

May 20, 2015, 1:25 PM HST
* Updated May 20, 1:27 PM
Listen to this Article
1 minute
Loading Audio...

Thirteen Hawai`i high school students have received the University of Hawai`i at Hilo’s prestigious Chancellor’s scholarship, including six from the Big Island.

The award funds local high school graduates statewide with four years of tuition, a value of over $26,500.  The winning students earned either a minimum GPA of 3.5, a combined 1800 SAT or ACT composite score of 27, and demonstrated outstanding leadership and/or community service.

The winning students must enroll full-time at the university and earn at least 24 credits each academic year while maintaining a cumulative GPA of 3.25.  Students are also required to participate in leadership activities and/or community services with other Chancellor Scholars.

The recipients of the 2015 Chancellor Scholarship are as follows:

* Nicole Antonio (Waiakea High)
* Harley Broyles (Waimea High)
* Pomaika`i Cathcart (Kamehameha – Maui)
* Jasmine Curiel (Hanalani Schools)
* Jon Ehrenberg (West Hawaii Explorations Academy)
* Sarah Ferguson (Leilehua High)
* Trent Furuta (Mililani High)
* Courtney Ip (Waiakea High)
* Cody Kojima (Waiakea High)
* Kaydee Rapozo (Waiakea High)
* Melia Takakusagi (Waimea High)
* Brandon Tomota (Waiakea High)
* Amirah Waite (Roosevelt High)

Subscribe to our Newsletter

Stay in-the-know with daily or weekly
headlines delivered straight to your inbox.
Mahalo for Subscribing


This comments section is a public community forum for the purpose of free expression. Although Big Island Now encourages respectful communication only, some content may be considered offensive. Please view at your own discretion. View Comments