UH-Hilo’s Kim, Kurokawa Earn All-PWC Baseball Honors

May 13, 2015, 3:32 PM HST
* Updated May 13, 3:36 PM
Listen to this Article
2 minutes
Loading Audio...

Two University of Hawai’i at Hilo baseball players received All-PacWest recognition after putting together standout seasons amidst another losing year for the team.

Samuel Kim, a senior third baseman, was named to the All-PacWest Second Team. Junior pitcher Jordan Kurokawa, meanwhile, received All-PacWest Third Team honors.

Kim led the Vulcans by hitting .335 with 23 runs batted in. He was also tied for the team lead with three home runs. He played in all but one game this season.

Kurokawa closed out his junior season with a complete game, nine-inning victory over Academy of Art, striking out 10 in the win against Academy of Art on April 29. He finished with a 3-4 record and a 3.07 earned run average in 10 starts. His three complete games was a team best.

UH-Hilo finished the season with an 11-35 record and 7-25 conference mark.


2015 All-PacWest Baseball Team


First Team

Catcher – Stephen Lohr (California Baptist)

First Base – Jordan Brewer (Azusa Pacific), Kevin Kline (Dixie State)


Second Base – Drew McLaughlin (Dixie State)

Third Base – Antonio Chavarria (California Baptist)

Shortstop – Tanner Morache (Dixie State)

Outfield – Baron Brewer (Fresno Pacific), Andy Crowley (California Baptist), Ryan Santana (Azusa Pacific)

Designated Hitter – Benjamin Gamba (Holy Names)

Pitcher – Wilson Ashford (Fresno Pacific), Rico Garcia (Hawai’i Pacific), Adam Hofacket (California Baptist)

Relief Pitcher – Evan Parker (Dixie State)

Second Team

Catcher – Anthony Torres (Point Loma Nazarene)

First Base – AJ David (California Baptist)

Second Base – Blake James (Azusa Pacific)

Third Base – Samuel Kim (Hawai’i-Hilo)

Shortstop – Daniel Martin (Azusa Pacific)

Outfield – Donald Glover (Dixie State), Jordan Oshiro (Hawai’i Pacific), Preston Scott (Fresno Pacific)

Designated Hitter – Nathan Antoun (California Baptist)

Pitcher – Trent Carrier (Holy Names), Nate Gercken (Academy of Art), Tyson Miller (California Baptist)

Relief Pitcher – Josh Grajeda (Azusa Pacific)

Third Team

First Base – Ryan Garcia (Point Loma Nazarene)

Second Base – Luke Navigato (California Baptist)

Third Base – Yuto Kata (Dixie State)

Shortstop – Michael Tittle (Fresno Pacific)

Outfield – Mitch Dergazarian (Azusa Pacific), AJ Derr (Point Loma Nazarene), Joseph Marchini (Academy of Art)

Pitcher – Harley Holt (Hawai’i Pacific), Jordan Kurokawa (Hawai’i-Hilo), Jeremy McDonald (California Baptist)

Relief Pitcher – Josh Medeles (Fresno Pacific)

Player of the Year – Antonio Chavarria (California Baptist)

Pitcher of the Year – Wilson Ashford (Fresno Pacific)

Defender of the Year – Andy Crowley (California Baptist)

Freshman of the Year – Dylan File (Dixie State)

Newcomer of the Year – Tanner Morache (Dixie State)

Coach of the Year – Chris Pfatenhauer (Dixie State)

Subscribe to our Newsletter

Stay in-the-know with daily or weekly
headlines delivered straight to your inbox.
Mahalo for Subscribing


This comments section is a public community forum for the purpose of free expression. Although Big Island Now encourages respectful communication only, some content may be considered offensive. Please view at your own discretion. View Comments