Parker School Students Stand Out at Hawaii Science Fair

Listen to this Article
1 minute
Loading Audio... Article will play after ad...
Playing in :00

Eleven Parker Middle School students took some of the top prizes during the 2015 Hawai`i District Science & Engineering Fair in Hilo on Feb. 7.  The students claimed awards in 16 categories, including First Place in the Junior Research Division taken by seventh grader Hali`a Buchal.

Four of the students will advance to compete at the state science fair on Oahu on March 22-24.  Parker School’s science department chair, Mindy Higgins, claimed the Outstanding Teachers Award for the Junior Research Division.

The winning Parker School students at the 2015 Hawai`i District Science & Engineering Fair are as follows:

  1. Awards of Merit:  Helena Goto, Ben May, Emma Choi, Jordan Vedelli, Riley Higgins, Hiroki Soler, Makana Blake, Tierney Wold, Hali’a Buchal, Hunter Bugado, and Anna Gaglionne
  2. American Association of University Women Award:  Tierney Wold
  3. ‘Imiloa Outstanding Project in Space Science Award: 1st place winner: Tierney Wold
  4. Charlie Chong Future Conservationist Award:  Hiroki Soler
  5. TMT Galileo Award:  Riley Higgins, Jordan Vedelli, Hunter Bugado and Tierney Wold
  6. Hapai Enterprises (The Outstanding Entomology/Zoology Award):  Ben May
  7. Mauna Loa Observatory Award:  Hali’a Buchal
  8. Joint Astronomy Centre’s Research Project Award:  Tierney Wold
  9. Hawaii Electric Light Company Best in Engineering/Environmental Science Awards:  Hunter Bugado
  10. Pacific International Center for Space Exploration Systems Award:  Tierney Wold
  11. Office of Naval Research Award:  Hali’a Buchal
  12. Best in Subject Categories:
  13. a) Junior Best in Physics and Astronomy: Tierney Wold
  14. b) Best in Plant Sciences:  Hali’a Buchal
  15. Broadcom Masters: Hunter Bugado and Hali’a Buchal
  16. The Robert M. and Alice K. Fujimoto Foundation Award (junior research): Hali’a Buchal
  17. Hawaii District Science and Engineering Fair Travel Awards:  Hali’a Buchal, Hunter Bugado, Hiroki Soler and Tierney Wold
  18. Outstanding Teachers Award for the Junior Division:  Mindy Higgins


Sponsored Content

Subscribe to our Newsletter

Stay in-the-know with daily or weekly
headlines delivered straight to your inbox.


This comments section is a public community forum for the purpose of free expression. Although Big Island Now encourages respectful communication only, some content may be considered offensive. Please view at your own discretion. View Comments