West Hawai’i Hospital Board Adds New Members

Listen to this Article
2 minutes
Loading Audio... Article will play after ad...
Playing in :00

The West Hawai’i Region Board of Directors, who oversees Kona Community Hospital and Kohala Hospital, has added three new members: Adrienne R. Klein, Michael H. Schlueter, and Danielle Ku’ulei Potter Stovaw.

“We are happy to welcome three new board members,” said Bill Cliff, Board Chair.  “Each brings invaluable experiences and expertise to the West Hawaii Region as we continue our commitment to fulfilling our mission to provide quality health care for all West Hawaii residents.”

Klein recently relocated to the Big Island following a 30-year career in medical malpractice litigation. She is a retired solo practice attorney who specialized in medical malpractice and personal injury. The long-time New York State Bar member has also served as Attorney Emeritus, who volunteered to provide pro bono legal service to New Yorkers who were unable to afford an attorney. In addition to her interests in medical issues, Klein has a strong interest in community service.

Schlueter is the Co-Supervising Deputy Attorney at the Office of the Prosecuting Attorney for the County of Hawai’i. In 2005, prior to his work with the Office of the Prosecuting Attorney, Schlueter moved to Kona and began a private law firm. He is also the second Vice President of the West Hawai’i Bar Association and has involved himself in the development of community-based programs like the Big Island Drug Court and the Big island Veterans Treatment Court.


Potter is a Kamehameha Schools graduate who was born and raised on the Big Island. She has been a full-time obstetrician/gynecologist at Ali’i Health Care since August 2013. Potter was awarded the Award for Excellence in Female Pelvic Medicine/Reconstructive Surgery in 2012 at Phoenix Integrated Residency in Obstetrics and Gynecology, where she also completed her residency. Potter has a strong interest and commitment in playing an active role in improving the health care system for the residents of West and South Hawai’i.

The new members will join the current board, which includes Cliff, Chair; Renee Inaba, Vice-Chair; Reginald T. Morimoto, Secretary/Treasurer; Joel Gimpel, Reef Flickinger, Dr. Gary Goldberg, Frank Sayre, DDS, and Steven Sparks, who make up the 2015-2016 West Hawai’i Region Board of Directors.


Subscribe to our Newsletter

Stay in-the-know with daily or weekly
headlines delivered straight to your inbox.


This comments section is a public community forum for the purpose of free expression. Although Big Island Now encourages respectful communication only, some content may be considered offensive. Please view at your own discretion. View Comments