Tre Johnson Lands on All-PacWest Second Team

March 4, 2015, 2:40 PM HST
* Updated March 4, 2:46 PM
Listen to this Article
2 minutes
Loading Audio...

University of Hawai’i at Hilo forward Tre Johnson was named to the All-PacWest Men’s Basketball Second Team following his debut season in a Vulcan uniform.

Johnson, a junior transfer from Montana State University, scored a team-high 17.5 points per game, which was also good for second in the conference behind Azusa Pacific’s Troy Leaf, who was named PacWest Player of the Year. Leaf averaged 22.7 points per outing.

An athletic presence on both offensive and defensive ends, Johnson used his energy and leaping ability on the boards, where he grabbed a team-best 7.3 rebounds per night, good for sixth in the PacWest.

Among his PacWest peers, Johnson was tied for third in the conference in field goal percentage (.535) and fifth in blocks (1.3)

During the season, Johnson won several weekly conference awards. He was named PacWest Player of the Week in the last week of November and shared the same honor three weeks later. In January, Johnson earned PacWest Defender of the Week honors for games played between Jan. 19-25.


Johnson was the only UH-Hilo basketball player, male or female, to receive postseason recognition from the PacWest Conference. Both teams missed out on the PacWest Tournament, which gets underway this week in Irvine, Calif.


UH-Hilo’s men’s basketball team finished with a record of 12-14 overall and 8-12 in conference action.

The All-PacWest selections are voted on by coaches throughout the league.

2014-2015 All-PacWest Men’s Basketball Team


First Team

Pablo Coro (Guard) – BYU-Hawai’i

Troy Leaf (Guard) – Azusa Pacific

Hayden Lescault (Guard) – Point Loma Nazarene

Zach Robbins (Forward) – Dixie State

DeQuan Thompson (Guard) – Dixie State

Gelaun Wheelright (Guard) – California Baptist

Second Team

Lee Bailey (Guard) – Chaminade

Daniel Berger (Guard) – BYU-Hawai’i

Luke Hager (Forward) – Hawai’i Pacific

Tre Johnson (Forward) – Hawai’i-Hilo

Robert Sandoval (Azusa Pacific) – Azusa Pacific

Dominique Taplin (Guard) – Dominique

Third Team

Trevon Clayton (Forward) – Fresno Pacific

Matt Hayes (Guard) – Dominican

Kevin Hu (Guard) – Chaminade

Marek Klassen (Guard) – Point Loma Nazarene

Kuany Kuany (Forward) – Chaminade

Justin Long (Guard) – Hawai’i Pacific

Mason Sawyer (Guard) – Dixie State

Taj Spencer (Forward) – California Baptist

2014-2015 All-PacWest Men’s Basketball Awards

Player of the Year – Troy Leaf (Azusa Pacific)

Defender of the Year – Dominique Taplin (Dominican)

Freshman of the Year – Petar Kutlesic (Azusa Pacific)

Newcomer of the Year – Gelaun Wheelwright (California Baptist)

Coach of the Year – Justin Leslie (Azusa Pacific)

Subscribe to our Newsletter

Stay in-the-know with daily or weekly
headlines delivered straight to your inbox.
Mahalo for Subscribing


This comments section is a public community forum for the purpose of free expression. Although Big Island Now encourages respectful communication only, some content may be considered offensive. Please view at your own discretion. View Comments