East Hawaii News

Two Big Island Students Among U.S. Service Academy Nominees

January 22, 2015, 3:01 PM HST
* Updated January 22, 3:08 PM
Listen to this Article
2 minutes
Loading Audio...

Two Big Island students are among the 38 named Thursday by United States Senators Mazie Hirono and Brian Schatz as nominees to attend one of the nation’s service academies. Sarina Wyrick of St. Joseph High School and Iliana Nakamoto of Kamehameha Schools Hawai’i are among the students who are nominated for consideration by the U.S. Service Academies to attend the United States Military Academy, the United States Naval Academy, and the United States Merchant Marine Academy.

“This year’s U.S. Service Academy nominees represent a new generation of future military leaders, all of whom completed a highly competitive and rigorous selection process,” said Senator Schatz. “I admire these students for their courage and commitment to serve based on the values that make this Nation great.”

The nominees were selected by a panel that included Allen Hoe, a decorated Vietnam War veteran and current Civilian Aide to the Secretary of the Army for East Hawai’i.

“Inspired by the many generations of Hawaii men and women who have answered the call to service, these young adults exemplify the finest of our island state. I am proud to nominate these candidates and certain that each of them will represent Hawaii in fine fashion as the continue the application process,” said Senator Hirono.

Applicants were considered based on their ability to successfully meet the rigorous demands for the undergraduate education and training of officers of the United States Armed Forces. Applicant demonstration of leadership skills through athletics and other organizations, as well as an overall commitment to the military, the community and the country, are also considered.


Other students nominated throughout the state include:


Adam Amosa, James Campbell High School

Kristina Ancheta, James Campbell High School

Joshua Chae, Henry J. Kaiser High School


Michael Chasen, Seabury Hall

Ray Cochrane, Moanalua High School

Noah Crabbe, Kamehameha Schools Kapalama

Nathanael Endo, Waianae High School

Austin Faulkner, Moanalua High School

Kai’onu Gantz, Kapolei High School

Kate Greathouse, Moanalua High School

Nicole Grimm, Kalaheo High School

Robert Heckman, Punahou School

Calen Scot Holt, Kamehameha Schools Kapalama

Isaac Hoyohoy, James Campbell High School

Alexander Kidani, Punahou School

David Kim, ‘Iolani School

Yu Jin Kim, Moanalua High School

David Kop, Punahou School

Gordon Kowalkowski, Punahou School

Alexander Lee, ‘Iolani School

Matthew Lee, Punahou School

Christine Lew, James Campbell High School

Lowen Joshua Lobaton, Kapolei High School

Russ Macadangdang, Kapolei High School

Matthew Mantanona, James Campbell High School

Diana Marquez, Aiea High School

Kenji Mori, Punahou School

Sabrina Ray Olaes, Kapolei High School

Peter Orlich, Le Jardin Academy

Angela Lois Ortiz, Kalani High School

Daniel Pagaduan, Radford High School

Mitchell Rumbaoa, Henry J. Kaiser High School

Lael Sommer, Punahou School

Noah Toaso, Kalaheo High School

Rene Valentine, Damien Memorial School

Benjamin Wuthrich, H.P. Baldwin High School

Subscribe to our Newsletter

Stay in-the-know with daily or weekly
headlines delivered straight to your inbox.
Mahalo for Subscribing


This comments section is a public community forum for the purpose of free expression. Although Big Island Now encourages respectful communication only, some content may be considered offensive. Please view at your own discretion. View Comments