Field Set For Champions Tour Event at Hualalai

January 20, 2015, 5:31 PM HST
* Updated January 20, 5:35 PM
Listen to this Article
1 minute
Loading Audio...

A star-studded and accomplishment-filled group of golfers will open the 2015 Champions Tour Season at the Hualalai Golf Course.

A group of 40 golfers, including eight World Golf Hall of Fame members and a soon-to-be Hall of Fame inductee, will hit the links for the Champions Tour’s season-opening event, the Mitsubishi Electric Championship at Hualalai. Championship rounds will be held Jan. 23-25.

Qualifying golfers have either won a tour event in the last two years or won a tour major anytime since 2010.

Exemptions have been given to eight golfers, each of whom have won at least 15 tour events and one major championship.

Headlining the field is defending champion Bernhard Langer, who defeated Fred Couples and Jeff Sluman last year by three shots. Langer also won the 2009 event, defeating Andy Bean by one stroke


Five other past champions join the field, including John Cook (2011, 2013), Tom Watson (2010), Fred Funk (2008), Hale Irwin (1997, 2007), and Loren Roberts (2006).


Irwin and Roberts are in the 2015 tournament thanks to sponsor exemptions. Joining them are Ben Crenshaw, Peter Jacobsen, Davis Love III, Corey Pavin, Nick Price, and Curtis Strange.

Mark O’Meara will become one of the newest members of the World Golf Hall of Fame this summer at St. Andrews, England during the 2015 Open Championship. He will join current members Colin Montgomerie, Couples, Crenshaw, Irwin, Price, Strange, Langer, and Watson.

The 2015 Mitsubishi Electric Championship will be televised on the Golf Channel in daily three-hour windows.


2015 Mitsubishi Electric Championship at Hualalai field (in alphabetical order)

Michael Allen

Olin Browne

Bart Bryant

Roger Chapman

Russ Cochran

John Cook

Fred Couples

Ben Crenshaw*

Joe Daley

Scott Dunlap

Brad Faxon

David Frost

Fred Funk

Paul Goydos

Jay Haas

Kohki Idoki

Hale Irwin*

Peter Jacobsen*

Miguel Angel Jimenez

Bernhard Langer

Tom Lehman

Davis Love III*

Jeff Maggert

Rocco Mediate

Colin Montgomerie

Mark O’Meara

Corey Pavin*

Tom Pernice Jr.

Kenny Perry

Nick Price*

John Riegger

Loren Roberts*

Wes Short Jr.

Jeff Sluman

Craig Stadler

Curtis Strange*

Esteban Toledo

Kirk Triplett

Tom Watson

Mark Wiebe

*  – denotes sponsorship exemption

Subscribe to our Newsletter

Stay in-the-know with daily or weekly
headlines delivered straight to your inbox.
Mahalo for Subscribing


This comments section is a public community forum for the purpose of free expression. Although Big Island Now encourages respectful communication only, some content may be considered offensive. Please view at your own discretion. View Comments