UHH’s Lee Named PWC Co-Player of the Year in Softball

Listen to this Article
2 minutes
Loading Audio... Article will play after ad...
Playing in :00

University of Hawai`i at Hilo senior softball player Rebecca Lee closed out her softball career with a share of the PacWest Conference’s top individual award.

Lee, along with Azusa Pacific University’s Nicki Sprague, was named the conference’s Co-Player of the Year in softball for the 2014 season.

Lee won the award outright last season, and followed up on her debut season in Hilo by leading the conference in five different categories. She hit .530 on the season, slugged at an .868 percentage, and had an on-base percentage of .585. She also led the PacWest with 18 doubles and 20 stolen bases.

Lee’s batting average was a near 10 percent difference from last year’s .432 batting average. She also drove in 47 runs on the year, five more than last season, and her nine home runs was four more than her total in 2013.

A graduate of Mililani High School, Lee arrived at the University of Hawai`i at Hilo after two seasons at East Carolina University, a Division I institution.

Joining Lee on the All-PacWest First Team is third baseman Emily Greene, who makes the squad for a second consecutive season. The junior batted .393 with five home runs and 32 runs batted in. Her batting average was a large improvement from her .301 clip last season, although she played in 20 less games from last season.


Colleen Aubrey and Kristina Victa were named to the All-PacWest Third Team. Aubrey, a junior, hit .393 on the season with 18 runs batted in.

Victa, a senior, was last year’s Newcomer of the Year in the PacWest and made the All-PacWest Second Team. She hit .393 this season with 14 stolen bases and nine runs batted in.

2014 All-PacWest Softball Awards

First Team

Madison Hernandez (C, Azusa Pacific)


Emily Greene (1B, Hawai`i-Hilo)

Nicole Chavez (2B, Dixie State)

Nicki Sprague (3B, Azusa Pacific)

Krista Mann (SS, Krista Mann)

Marshean August (OF, California Baptist)


Rebecca Lee (OF, Hawai`i-Hilo)

Courtney Sherwin (OF, Dixie State)

Aryn Feickert (P, Dixie State)

Belinda Renne (P, California Baptist)

Kamyle Glover (At-Large, Academy of Art)

Savannah Miller (At-Large, California Baptist)

Breanna Young (At-Large, Notre Dame de Namur)

Second Team

Marla Reiter (C, Dixie State)

Sheila Gelter (1B, Dixie State)

Jacque Lopez (2B, California Baptist)

Taylor Thurman (3B, Academy of Art)

Sharae Esprecion (SS, Hawai`i Pacific)

Elyse Cordova (OF, Academy of Art)

Bailee Freeland (OF, Dixie State)

Courtney Hine (OF, Dixie State)

Michelle Duncan (P, Dixie State)

Carly Xepoleas (P, Azusa Pacific)

Catlyn Cavender (At-Large, Dominican)

Chandell Dacosin (At-Large, Hawai`i Pacific)

Mallory Paulson (At-Large, Dixie State)

Third Team

Ashley Phelps (C, Chaminade)

Kayleigh Klingberg (1B, Dominican)

Katrina Oviedo (2B, Azusa Pacific)

Brooke Budge (3B, Dixie State)

Desiree Chavez (SS, Azusa Pacific)

Colleen Aubrey (OF, Hawai`i-Hilo)

London Miller (OF, California Baptist)

Kristina Victa (OF, Hawai`i-Hilo)

Jenna Bassler (P, Notre Dame de Namur)

Ashlyn Moriarty (P, Dominican)

Lyveana Ilayan (At-Large, Holy Names)

Aja Keyes (At-Large, Chaminade)

Autumn Woodfall (At-Large, Dixie State)

Co-Players of the Year: Rebecca Lee (Hawai`i-Hilo) and Nicki Sprague (Azusa Pacific)

Pitcher of the Year: Aryn Feickert (Dixie State)

Freshman of the Year: Nicki Sprague (Azusa Pacific)

Newcomer of the Year: Aryn Feickert (Dixie State)

Coach of the Year: Randy Simkins (Dixie State)

Sponsored Content

Subscribe to our Newsletter

Stay in-the-know with daily or weekly
headlines delivered straight to your inbox.


This comments section is a public community forum for the purpose of free expression. Although Big Island Now encourages respectful communication only, some content may be considered offensive. Please view at your own discretion. View Comments