HHSAA Baseball Brackets Announced

May 6, 2013, 3:18 PM HST
* Updated May 6, 5:17 PM
Listen to this Article
2 minutes
Loading Audio...

The Hawai`i High School Athletic Association released the brackets Sunday for the Wally Yonamine Foundation / HHSAA State Baseball Championships, which begins this week on Maui and Oahu.

The 12-team Division I tournament gets underway Wednesday at Maui’s Iron Maehara Stadium with the defending state champions hoping to take the long route to Saturday’s championship. Waiakea, who went 13-7 overall in 2013, opens the tournament at 1:00 p.m. against 6-10 Leilehua, the fourth place team out of the Oahu Interscholastic Association’s Red Division.

Hilo (14-6-1), who beat Waiakea three times in Big Island Interscholastic Federation play and won the overall league championship, took the tournament’s fourth seed and will play Thursday at 11:30 a.m. against the winner of Wednesday’s ‘Iolani / Kailua matchup.

The top seed in the tournament went to last year’s runner up. Maui Interscholastic League champion Baldwin will open the tournament at 7:00 p.m. Thursday against the winner of the Mililani / Waipahu winner. Interscholastic League of Honolulu winner Mid-Pacific Institute was seeded second, while OIA champion Campbell picked up the third seed.

In Division II, both BIIF representatives failed to pick up one of the four seeds in the eight-team tournament, held at Waipahu’s Hans L’Orange Park. League champion Kamehameha-Hawai`i (16-2-1) will open at 4:00 p.m. Thursday against Kauai Interscholastic Federation champion Kapa`a. That game can be heard on ESPN Radio and


Meanwhile, runner up Konawaena (16-5) will face ILH champion Maryknoll at 7:00 p.m. Thursday. The Spartans went 8-3-1 in regular season play and took the tourney’s second seed.


The top seed went to OIA white champion Waianae, who will face fellow OIA competitor Kaimuki at 10:00 a.m. Thursday. MIL champion Moloka`i was seeded third and will play Radford Thursday.

Division I tournament schedule (all games at Iron Maehara Stadium)



10:00 a.m. – Mililani vs. Waipahu

1:00 p.m. – Waiakea vs. Leilehua

4:00 p.m. – `Iolani vs. Kailua

7:00 p.m. – Maui vs. Pearl City


9:00 a.m. – Mililani/Waipahu loser vs. Iolani/Kailua loser

11:30 a.m. – #4 Hilo vs. `Iolani/Kailua winner

2:00 p.m. – #2 Mid-Pacific vs. Waiakea/Leilehua winner

4:30 p.m. – #3 Campbell vs. Maui/Pearl City winner

7:00 p.m. – #1 Baldwin vs. Mililani/Waipahu winner


9:00 a.m. – Waiakea/Leilehua loser vs. Maui/Pearl City loser

11:30 a.m. – Fifth place semifinal

2:00 p.m. – Fifth place semifinal

4:30 p.m. – Semifinal

7:00 p.m. – Semifinal


9:00 a.m. – Consolation championship

12:00 p.m. – Fifth place game

3:00 p.m. – Third place game

6:00 p.m. – Championship

Division II schedule (all games at Hans L’Orange Park)


10:00 a.m. – #1 Waianae vs. Kaimuki

1:00 p.m. – #3 Moloka`i vs. Radford

4:00 p.m. – #4 Kapa`a vs. Kamehameha-Hawai`i

7:00 p.m. – #2 Maryknoll vs. Konawaena


10:00 a.m. – Waianae/Kaimuki loser vs. Kapa`a/Kamehameha-Hawai`i loser

1:00 p.m. – Maryknoll/Konawaena loser vs. Moloka`i/Radford loser

4:00 p.m. – Maryknoll/Konawaena winner vs. Moloka`i/Radford winner

7:00 p.m. – Waianae/Kaimuki winner vs. Kapa`a/Kamehameha-Hawai`i winner


12:00 p.m. – Fifth place game

3:00 p.m. – Third place game

6:00 p.m. – Championship game

Subscribe to our Newsletter

Stay in-the-know with daily or weekly
headlines delivered straight to your inbox.
Mahalo for Subscribing


This comments section is a public community forum for the purpose of free expression. Although Big Island Now encourages respectful communication only, some content may be considered offensive. Please view at your own discretion. View Comments