UHH’s CJ Brown Named to All-PWC Honorable Mention List

March 8, 2013, 9:30 AM HST
Listen to this Article
1 minute
Loading Audio...

University of Hawai`i at Hilo guard CJ Brown, the only player on the team to start every game this season, was rewarded for his effort with a spot on the All-PacWest Conference Honorable Mention Team for the 2012-2013 season.

Brown, a senior from Sacramento, CA, scored 12.6 points per contest for the 6-19 Vulcans. He bettered his scoring average in PacWest conference matchups, scoring 13.1 points per game in those contests.

Brown led the team with 99 made free throws, 97 assists, and 41 steals during the season. He also led the team in minutes (803) and minutes per game (32.1).

Chaminade’s DeAndre Haskins was named PacWest Player of the Year, while Freshman of the Year went to Alex Carmon of Holy Names. The top newcomer was Fresno Pacific’s John Taylor, and Coach of the Year honors were shared by Dixie State’s Jon Judkins and Dominican’s Booker Harris.

All-PacWest First Team


Joshua Lowery, Grand Canyon


Zach Robbins, Dixie State

De’Andre Haskins, Chaminade

Malcolm Griffin, Fresno Pacific


John Taylor, Fresno Pacific

Okense Junior Ale, BYU-Hawai`i

Troy Leaf, Azusa Pacific

All-PacWest Second Team

Killian Larson, Grand Canyon

DeAndre Medlock, BYU-Hawai`i

Luke Evans, Cal Baptist

Bennie Murray, Chaminade

Ameer Shamsud-din, Academy of Art

Devin Golston, Dominican

Dalton Groskreutz, Dixie State

All-PacWest Third Team

McKay Massey, Dixie State

Lee Bailey, Chaminade

Steven Larson, Dixie State

Jammal Clark, Dominican

BJ Porter, Azusa Pacific

Marko Cukic, Hawai`i Pacific

Malte Ziegenhagen, Hawai`i Pacific

All-PacWest Honorable Mention

Antonio Credit, Fresno Pacific

Dominique Taplin, Dominican

CJ Brown, Hawai`i Hilo

Tyler Fry, Holy Names

Micah Dunhour, Notre Dame de Namur

Wesley White, Notre Dame de Namur

Braylon Pickrel, Grand Canyon

Player of the Year: DeAndre Haskins, Chaminade

Freshman of the Year: Alex Carmon, Holy Names

Newcomer of the Year: John Taylor, Fresno Pacific

Co-Coach of the Year: Jon Judkins, Dixie State, and Booker Harris, Dominican

Subscribe to our Newsletter

Stay in-the-know with daily or weekly
headlines delivered straight to your inbox.
Mahalo for Subscribing


This comments section is a public community forum for the purpose of free expression. Although Big Island Now encourages respectful communication only, some content may be considered offensive. Please view at your own discretion. View Comments