East Hawaii News

Kenoi, Roth and County Council Members Sworn In

December 3, 2012, 2:41 PM HST
* Updated December 3, 2:43 PM
Listen to this Article
1 minute
Loading Audio...

Mayor Billy Kenoi and other newly elected county officials were sworn into office today.

A large crowd at the Afook-Chinen Civic Auditorium gave a warm welcome to Kenoi, Prosecuting Attorney Mitch Roth and County Council Chairman J Yoshimoto and the other eight council members, Vice-Chairwoman Karen Eoff and members Brenda Ford, Greggor Ilagan, Dru Kanuha, Zendo Kern, Dennis “Fresh” Onishi, Valerie Poindexter and Margaret Wille.

Yoshimoto, Ford and Onishi are returning council members; the other six are newly elected, representing the largest number of new council members in recent memory.

Circuit Judge Greg Nakamura administered the oaths of office.

The new council will hold its first meeting this afternoon. The outgoing members held their final meeting — also known as the “sine die” session — this morning.


Skylark Rosetti was the mistress of ceremonies for today’s inauguration. Musical offerings were provided by the Hawaii County Band and the Kamehameha School Concert Glee Club. The presentation of colors was done by the Hilo High School JROTC Color Guard.

Subscribe to our Newsletter

Stay in-the-know with daily or weekly
headlines delivered straight to your inbox.
Mahalo for Subscribing


This comments section is a public community forum for the purpose of free expression. Although Big Island Now encourages respectful communication only, some content may be considered offensive. Please view at your own discretion. View Comments