Two Vulcan Men Make PacWest Honorable Mention Squad

March 9, 2012, 7:03 AM HST
Listen to this Article
2 minutes
Loading Audio...

Two University of Hawaii at Hilo men’s basketball players were named to the 2011-2012 PacWest Honorable Mention team for the basketball season.

Zachary Wilde received his first all-conference award of his career. The senior from Snohomish, Washington averaged 11.6 points per game, placing him second on the team.  Wilde led the team in rebounds, bringing down 8.6 per conference. His rebounding prowess has put him at second place all time at UH Hilo behind Merriel Jenkins. The post player also showed a slightly improved outside game, draining 13 treys on the season, firing at a 35 percent clip. He shot nearly 47 percent from the field.

Newcomer Terrell Mack also made the honorable mention squad. Mack achieved the award after a tough year, which included being left off of the team’s road trip to Grand Canyon, Dixie State, and Cal Baptist, and also losing his spot in the starting lineup for several games during the year.

Mack led the team in scoring, dropping 16 points per contest, to go along with four rebounds per game. He led the team with 10 blocks on the season, and shot just over 48 percent from the field. The junior from Portland, Oregon will have one more season of eligibility under coach Jeff Law.

Overall, BYU-Hawaii’s Tsung-Hsien (Jet) Chang won the player of the year award, as his team failed to make it back to the NCAA tournament. He was also named to the Daktronics All-Region first team. He averaged 17.8 points per game on the season.


2011-2012 PacWest Men’s Basketball Awards


Player of the Year: Tsung-Hsien (Jet) Chang (BYU-Hawaii)

Newcomer of the Year: Luke Evans (Cal Baptist)

Co-Freshmen of the Year: Lee Bailey (Chaminade), Jerome Garrison (Grand Canyon)


Coach of the Year: Jon Judkins (Dixie State)

First Team: Tsung-Hsien (Jet) Chang (BYU-Hawaii), Maurice Cole (Dixie State), Matt Cousins (Chaminade), Luke Evans (Cal Baptist), Griffon Jones (Dixie State), Kyle Speed (Grand Canyon), Justus Von Wright (Cal Baptist)

Second Team: Okesene (Junior) Ale (BYU-Hawaii), Tyler Fricke (Notre Dame de Namur), Bracken Funk (BYU-Hawaii), Xander McNally (Dominican), Jacob Noisat (Dominican), Ivan Patterson (Cal Baptist), Braylon Pickerel (Grand Canyon)

Honorable Mention: Solomon Jensen (Dixie State), Terrell Mack (Hawaii-Hilo), William Overton Jr.  (Academy of Art), Ameer Shamsud-din (Academy of Art), Fran Urli (Hawaii Pacific), Zachary Wilde (Hawaii-Hilo), Nick Witherill (Grand Canyon)

Subscribe to our Newsletter

Stay in-the-know with daily or weekly
headlines delivered straight to your inbox.
Mahalo for Subscribing


This comments section is a public community forum for the purpose of free expression. Although Big Island Now encourages respectful communication only, some content may be considered offensive. Please view at your own discretion. View Comments