Hurley, Shimizu Receive PacWest Women’s Hoops Awards

Listen to this Article
2 minutes
Loading Audio... Article will play after ad...
Playing in :00

University of Hawaii at Hilo standouts Hillary Hurley and Kirsten Shimizu were honored by coaches in the PacWest conference in yearly awards announced this week.

Hurley, last year’s conference player of the year, as well as a multiple award winner in volleyball, was named to the all-conference first team this year, after battling nagging injuries. She also joined the squad in December following an extended volleyball campaign in the NCAA regionals.

Hurley ended the season strong, recording five consecutive double-doubles in points and rebounds. The senior from Anderson, California finished fourth in the conference in points per game, scoring 15.8 points on average per night. She was also tied at the top in rebounding, bringing down 10.2 per contest. She led her team in field goal percentage, shooting 56.1 percent from the floor, and blocks with 23.

Meanwhile, newcomer Kirsten Shimizu was named to the all-conference Honorable Mention squad for the 2011-2012 season. Shimizu was leading the team in scoring before Hurley was able to join the squad. On the year, she averaged 9.9 points per game, finishing second behind Hurley. Shimizu led the team in assists (63) and steals (44). She also topped the team in three-point makes (28) and three-point field goal percentage (34.6).


Also, Konawaena graduate Mana Hopkins was named to the conference’s first team as a member of Hawaii Pacific University. Hopkins has now made the first team list for the third consecutive year, after making it to the second team in her freshman season. Hopkins was second in the conference in scoring, putting down 17.4 points per game. She also finished third in the league in three-point shooting percentage (39.1).

2011-2012 PacWest Women’s Basketball Awards

Player of the Year: Maylinn Smith (Grand Canyon)


Newcomer of the Year: Shayla Washington (BYU-Hawaii)

Freshman of the Year: Taylor Mann (BYU-Hawaii)

Coach of the Year: Trent May (Grand Canyon)


First Team: Sheila Adams (Dixie State), Jallisa Butler (Grand Canyon), Paris Gravely (Hawaii Pacific), Myriah Hicks (Cal Baptist), Mana Hopkins (Hawaii Pacific), Hillary Hurley (Hawaii-Hilo), Maylinn Smith (Grand Canyon), Shayla Washington (BYU-Hawaii)

Second Team: Ariel Dale (Academy of Art), Alisa Griggs (Academy of Art), Simone Holmes (Cal Baptist), Devin London (Academy of Art), Chanel Maxey (Dixie State), Jordan Rogers (Academy of Art), Becca Thomas (Dixie State).

Honorable Mention: Jordan Ahakuelo (Chaminade), Taiyande Huskey (Hawaii Pacific), Kirsten Shimizu (Hawaii-Hilo), Emily Vore (Notre Dame de Namur), Diane Zane (Chaminade)

Sponsored Content

Subscribe to our Newsletter

Stay in-the-know with daily or weekly
headlines delivered straight to your inbox.


This comments section is a public community forum for the purpose of free expression. Although Big Island Now encourages respectful communication only, some content may be considered offensive. Please view at your own discretion. View Comments