Sports

Thursday, December 10, 2020

Mitsubishi Electric Championship Celebrates 25 Years at Hualalai

All three rounds of the 2021 Mitsubishi Electric Championship at Hualalai will be televised live on Golf Channel, January 21-23.
Sunday, December 06, 2020

Special Olympics Hawai‘i Athletes Surprised With Individual Medal Ceremonies

In November, more than 100 athletes from across the state competed virtually in the Holiday Fitness Classic
Tuesday, November 17, 2020

Spectators Out for 2021 Mitsubishi Electric Championship at Hualalai

The 25th annual season-opening event on PGA TOUR Champions will be held the week of Jan. 19-23, 2021, with all three competition rounds televised on Golf Channel.
Sunday, November 01, 2020

Tua Time Officially Begins in Miami With Victory

Tua Tagovailoa is undefeated as a starting quarterback in the National Football League. 
Sunday, October 18, 2020

UH to Play Home Games in Empty Aloha Stadium

The Rainbow Warriors will play their first home game against New Mexico on Nov. 7. 
Tuesday, August 11, 2020

IRONMAN Pledges $1 Million in Coronavirus Aid to Hawai‘i

The program will provide funding through mobile meals and grants, working with a group of partners across Hawai‘i County. 
Tuesday, July 21, 2020

IRONMAN Cancels 2020 World Championship in Kona

The 2020 version of the Big Island’s premier sporting event will not be held due to the COVID-19 pandemic. 
Thursday, June 25, 2020

County Cancels Swim, Fishing Tournament

The Richardson Rough Water Swim is a one-mile open ocean race held annually that starts and ends at Richardson Ocean Park in Hilo.
Thursday, May 14, 2020

IRONMAN Postpones World Championship Until February

For the first time in years, Kailua-Kona won’t host the IRONMAN World Championship in October. 
Sunday, April 19, 2020

Hilo AYSO Misses Spring Season, Looks Ahead to Fall

Hilo AYSO’s 2019 fall season saw 75 teams take the field every week for Hilo AYSO’s core program, with kids from ages 4 to 14 competing in a safe environment.
Thursday, March 12, 2020

The Day the Madness Died

The decision followed that of the NBA to postpone its regular season until further notice and came on the same day MLB said it would postpone opening day at least two weeks.
Wednesday, March 11, 2020

March Madness to be Held in Empty Arenas

Large public events such as concerts and soccer matches have been postponed or canceled across the globe.
Wednesday, February 26, 2020

Senate to Honor UH Men’s Volleyball Team

The nation’s No. 2 men’s volleyball team will be honored by the Hawai‘i State Senate.
Monday, February 17, 2020

Honokaʻa Hoops Bring Police, Youth Together

The activity attracted 10 Honokaʻa School teams and involved student players as well as student scorers and timers. 
Sunday, January 26, 2020

NBA Legend Kobe Bryant Dies in Chopper Crash

Bryant is survived by his wife, Vanessa, and four children. He was 41 years old.
Wednesday, January 22, 2020

Hawaiʻi Football Hires Todd Graham

The coach will make $760,000 in his first year.
Sunday, January 19, 2020

Drama Ensues in 3-Man Playoff at Hualalai

All three golfers found themselves at -14 through the 54-hole event, 2 shots better than the next closest challengers.
Thursday, December 19, 2019

John John Florence Qualifies for US Olympic Surf Team

Haleiwa’s John John Lawrence has secured a spot on the United States’ Olympic team in surfing’s debut at the 2020 Olympics in Tokyo, Japan.
Sunday, December 08, 2019

Warriors Earn Nod to SoFi Hawai‘i Bowl

UH has accepted an invitation to the SoFi Hawai‘i Bowl, in what will functionally be an extra home game for the Warriors.
Saturday, December 07, 2019

UH Warriors Beat by BSU in Mountain West Championship

The Warriors were defeated 31-10 at Boise State’s home stadium, leaving BSU at 12-1 for the season.
Load More Articles