Hawai‘i Community Federal Credit Union announces new Board of Directors

Listen to this Article
2 minutes
Loading Audio... Article will play after ad...
Playing in :00

From left: Menard Galam, Nellie Medeiros, Tyson Klask, Tysha McDonald, Jecoliah Pacatang, Novie Gonzales, Virginia Kokal, Susie Crowe. Photo Courtesy: HCFCU

Hawai‘i Community Federal Credit Union is pleased to announce its Board of Directors for the 2023-2024 term.

Board members serve on a voluntary basis and play a vital role in guiding the strategic direction of the credit union, ensuring the best financial interests of its 46,700 members are served.

During their three-year terms, board members are responsible for maintaining the sound fiscal condition of the credit union, allowing the institution to continue its support of Hawaii Island’s community. The results of the newly elected Board of Directors were announced at the 86 th Annual Member Meeting, held on May 13 at The Westin Hapuna Beach Resort.


Three incumbent nominees submitted by the Board Nominations & Election Committee — Daryl Kurozawa, David DeLuz Jr., and Dwight Manago — were elected to serve another three-year term.

Hawai‘i Community Federal Credit Union Board Officers for the 2023-2024 term are Chairman Russell Komo, Vice Chairman Merrick Nishimoto, Treasurer Lloyd Tanaka, and Secretary David DeLuz Jr. Board members Peggy Ciriako, Thomas Griffiths, Daryl Kurozawa, Dwight Manago, and Sharon Sakai.

“We are thrilled to have a Board with diverse backgrounds and wealth of expertise for the upcoming term,” said Tricia Buskirk, credit union president and CEO. “Their insights and guidance will play a crucial role in shaping our future and maintaining our commitment to deliver exceptional financial services to our members.”


The Board of Directors will work closely with the credit union’s leadership team to develop and implement strategic initiatives, foster member relationships, and uphold the organization’s core values.

The Hawai‘i Community Federal Credit Union held its 86th Annual Membership Meeting at the Westin Hapuna Resort on May 13, the first in-person edition since 2019.

At this meeting, Tysha McDonald was named the credit union’s 2022 Employee of the Year, while seven other employees and one volunteer were recognized with service awards.


McDonald, Loan Officer at the Hilo Branch, is actively involved in the credit union’s activities and committees and takes a personal interest in community service projects.

Milestone work anniversaries were also celebrated at the annual meeting. Representing 135
years of service, these individuals have gone above and beyond to kokua our members and are
shining examples of HCFCU’s mission.

Nellie Medeiros, Corporate Development & Marketing Manager, has provided exceptional service for an astounding 50 years at the Hawai‘i Community Federal Credit Union.

Receiving 15-year service awards were Menard Galam, Member Relationship Specialist; Novie Gonzales, ACH/EFT Coordinator; Virginia Kokal, Branch Support Coordinator; and Jecoliah Pacatang, Mortgage Loan Processor. David De Luz, Jr., Board Director received a 10-year volunteer service award, and three employees received five-year service awards: Susie Crowe, Information Systems Coordinator; Tyson Klask, Hilo Branch Manager; and Tysha McDonald, Loan Officer.

Sponsored Content

Subscribe to our Newsletter

Stay in-the-know with daily or weekly
headlines delivered straight to your inbox.


This comments section is a public community forum for the purpose of free expression. Although Big Island Now encourages respectful communication only, some content may be considered offensive. Please view at your own discretion. View Comments