Big Island Press Club Offering Scholarships

March 5, 2019, 1:50 PM HST
Listen to this Article
1 minute
Loading Audio...

The Big Island Press Club (BIPC) reports the availability of scholarships for students pursuing higher education in journalism and related careers. Last year, BIPC awarded a total of $5,100 to six Hawai‘i Island students at its annual Scholarship dinner.

To qualify, applicants must have Big Island residential ties, demonstrate an interest in journalism or related career, be enrolled as a full-time student and show a record of academic achievement.

Madison Pratt, Montana State University student and winner of the Big Island Press Club Yukino Fukubori Scholarship in 2018, with BIPC President John Burnett. Courtesy photo.

In the past BIPC has offered scholarships honoring past Big Island journalists and advocates. The awards include the Robert C. Miller Memorial Scholarship, the Bill Arballo Scholarship, the Marcia Reynolds Scholarship, the Yukino Fukubori Memorial Scholarship and the Jack Markey Memorial Scholarship. This year the Hugh Clark scholarship, honoring the late Hawai‘i Island journalist, will also be awarded.

Past Big Island Press Club scholarship winners include former Ilihia Gionson of Hiehie Communications, Peter Sur, aide to Hawai‘i County Councilwoman Sue Lee Loy, Elisa Yadao, HMSA Senior Vice President, John Burnett, Hawaii Tribune Herald reporter, and Chris Loos, retired Hawai‘i Police Department spokeswoman and former newspaper and radio reporter.

Applications must be postmarked by April 1, 2019, and the announcement of winners will be at the BIPC Annual Scholarship dinner to be held in early May.


Applications are available at the BIPC website. For more information email [email protected].

Subscribe to our Newsletter

Stay in-the-know with daily or weekly
headlines delivered straight to your inbox.
Mahalo for Subscribing


This comments section is a public community forum for the purpose of free expression. Although Big Island Now encourages respectful communication only, some content may be considered offensive. Please view at your own discretion. View Comments