Gov. Ige Designates Acting Chair of Board of Agriculture

January 30, 2019, 5:58 PM HST
Listen to this Article
1 minute
Loading Audio...

Gov. David Ige has designated Phyllis Shimabukuro-Geiser as acting chairperson of the Hawai‘i Board of Agriculture on Jan. 30, 2019. The designation comes after Denise Albano resigned for personal reasons on Jan. 29. Albano was the governor’s nominee for Board of Agriculture chairperson.

Phyllis Shimabukuro-Geiser. Courtesy photo.

Under HRS 26-33, Shimabukuro-Geiser will serve in this position for up to 60 days from the date of vacancy or until the position is filled.

Shimabukuro-Geiser has served as deputy to the chairperson since 2015. She was also recently re-appointed to the position. Shimabukuro-Geiser is a long-time agriculture advocate who was previously employed at Mikilua Poultry Farm Inc. in Waiʻanae where she served as vice president and administrative fiscal assistant. She was also vice president at Associated Producers Corporation in Honolulu.


This comments section is a public community forum for the purpose of free expression. Although Big Island Now encourages respectful communication only, some content may be considered offensive. Please view at your own discretion. View Comments


Get a quick summary of what’s happening on the Big Island with our daily & weekly email of news highlights.