Featured Articles

4 West Hawai‘i Parks to Close Early on 4th

July 2, 2018, 1:10 PM HST
* Updated July 2, 1:11 PM
Listen to this Article
1 minute
Loading Audio...

The Department of Land and Natural Resources (DLNR) Division of State Parks will conduct early closures of four West Hawai‘i parks on the Fourth of July holiday.

Kekaha Kai State Park (Mahaiula and Maniniowali (Kua Bay) sections), Hapuna Beach State Recreation Area (including the Waialea Bay section), Lapakahi State Park and Kiholo State Park Reserve will close at 5 p.m. on Wednesday, July 4, 2018.

“We are closing these facilities early to discourage use of fireworks, which is prohibited in state parks, and to protect the public and natural resources of the areas,” said DLNR Chairperson Suzanne Case.

Normal park hours will resume on Thursday, July 5, 2018, as follows:

Hapuna Beach State Recreation Area – 7 a.m. to 8 p.m.
Kekaha Kai State Park – 8 a.m. to 7 p.m.
Kiholo State Park reserve – 7 a.m. to 7 p.m.


As a reminder, tents are not permitted at Wailoa River State Park in Hilo.

Subscribe to our Newsletter

Stay in-the-know with daily or weekly
headlines delivered straight to your inbox.
Mahalo for Subscribing


This comments section is a public community forum for the purpose of free expression. Although Big Island Now encourages respectful communication only, some content may be considered offensive. Please view at your own discretion. View Comments