Sen. Kahele to Serve as New Senate Majority Floor Leader

June 7, 2018, 9:34 PM HST
* Updated June 7, 9:41 PM
Listen to this Article
1 minute
Loading Audio...

After Sen. Will Espero’s retirement from the Senate effective June 1, 2018, Sen. Kaiali‘i Kahele who previously served as the Senate Majority Whip, will now serve as the new Senate Majority Floor Leader.

Sen. Brian T. Taniguchi will be the Senate Majority Whip. All other Senate Majority Leadership positions will remain the same.

“Senator Espero has served the State of Hawai‘i admirably over the years and I’m honored to have had the opportunity to have worked with him in the Senate,” said Sen. Kahele. “I wish Sen. Espero the best in his future endeavors as he continues to seek ways to serve the people of Hawai‘i. I appreciate the trust and confidence the Senate Leadership has in me to serve in this new position.”

Senate Leadership:

  • President – Sen. Ronald D. Kouchi (Dist. 8 – Kaua‘i, Ni‘ihau)
  • Vice President – Sen. Michelle N. Kidani (Dist. 18 – Mililani, Waipi‘o, Waikele, Kunia)
  • Majority Leader – Sen. J. Kalani English (Dist. 7 – Hāna, East Maui, Moloka‘i, Lāna‘i, Kaho‘olawe)
  • Majority Caucus Leader – Sen. Brickwood Galuteria (Dist. 12 – Waikīkī, Ala Moana, Kaka‘ako, Mō‘ili‘ili)
  • Majority Floor Leader – Sen. Kaiali‘i Kahele (Dist. 1 – Hilo)
  • Majority Whip – Sen. Brian T. Taniguchi (Dist. 11 – Mānoa, Makiki, Papakōlea, Punchbowl)
  • Assistant Majority Whip – Sen. Gilbert S.C. Keith-Aragan (Dist. 5 – Wailuku, Waihe‘e, Kahului)

Subscribe to our Newsletter

Stay in-the-know with daily or weekly
headlines delivered straight to your inbox.
Mahalo for Subscribing


This comments section is a public community forum for the purpose of free expression. Although Big Island Now encourages respectful communication only, some content may be considered offensive. Please view at your own discretion. View Comments