UH Hilo Chancellor’s Scholarship Recipients Named

May 14, 2018, 4:09 PM HST
Listen to this Article
1 minute
Loading Audio...

The University of Hawai‘i at Hilo announces that Thirteen students from public and private high schools in Hawaiʻi have been awarded the prestigious Chancellor’s Scholarship by the University of Hawaiʻi at Hilo.

The award, valued in excess of $29,000, covers four years of tuition for students graduating from a Hawaiʻi high school who earned either a GPA of at least 3.5, a combined 1800 SAT (reading, writing, math) or a composite score of 27 on the ACT while demonstrating leadership and/or community service.

All Chancellor Scholars are required to enroll as full-time students, and earn a minimum of 24 credits each academic year. They must also maintain a cumulative GPA of 3.25 and participate in leadership activities and/or community service with other Chancellor Scholars.

The 2018-2019 Chancellor Scholarship recipients and their respective high schools include:

• Michelle Biete, Leilehua High School
• Rod Neil Burbano, Honoka‘a High School
• Maria dePillis-Shintaku, Waiākea High School
• Caleb Kow, Kealakehe High School
• Amanda Kurano, University Laboratory School
• Christian Lopez, Kapolei High School
• Nevan Lowe, Waialua High School
• Alyssa Mathews, Waiākea High School
• Tara Marie Takafuji, Waiākea High School
• Trayden Tamiya, Waiākea High School
• Emily Travis, Mililani High School
• Chloe Waters, Kamehameha Schools Hawai‘i Campus
• Megan Woolsey, James Campbell High School


This comments section is a public community forum for the purpose of free expression. Although Big Island Now encourages respectful communication only, some content may be considered offensive. Please view at your own discretion. View Comments


Get a quick summary of what’s happening on the Big Island with our daily & weekly email of news highlights.