Keaukaha Elementary Principal Semi-Finalist for Leadership Award

Listen to this Article
3 minutes
Loading Audio... Article will play after ad...
Playing in :00

Tokioka Awards 2018: (L–R) Tyler Tokioka, president, Island Insurance Foundation; Principal Alfredo Carganilla of Farrington High; Kipapa Elementary School Principal Corinne Yogi; Stacey Bello of Keaukaha Elementary; Dr. Christina Kishimoto, Hawai‘i superintendent of education. PC: Island Insurance Foundation.

The Island Insurance Foundation presented a $2,000 cash award to and Principal Stacey Bello of Keaukaha Elementary in Hilo on Thursday, April 19, 2018, at the annual Public Schools of Hawaii Foundation banquet at the Sheraton Waikiki Hotel.

The other semifinalist in the Masayuki Tokioka Excellence in School Leadership Award competition was Principal Alfredo Carganilla of Farrington High School in Honolulu.

Other Big Island nominees for the prestigious award included Danny Garcia of Kohala Elementary School and Sharon Beck, principal of Ka‘ū High School and Pahala Elementary School.


Corinne Yogi, principal of Kipapa Elementary School in Mililani, was awarded $25,000 as the winner of the 14th annual Masayuki Tokioka Excellence in School Leadership Award.

The award is named in honor of the late Masayuki Tokioka, founder of Island Insurance Company, Ltd. It is presented annually by the Island Insurance Foundation to a local public school principal who is visionary, community-minded and has an entrepreneurial spirit—qualities of leadership that Tokioka exemplified in his own company and in the larger business community.

“Principal Yogi is a leader who is transforming Kipapa Elementary into a model learning institution,” said Tyler Tokioka, President of the Island Insurance Foundation. “By recognizing outstanding principals such as Corinne, it is our hope that her accomplishments will inspire others in public education.”


At tonight’s event, Yogi received $15,000 for a school project of her choice and an additional $10,000 cash award.

Fourteen local public school principals were nominated for the award. They each received $1,000 and a commemorative plaque, which were presented to them at a recognition ceremony on April 7.

Yogi has been an educator at Kipapa Elementary for over 24 years, including eight years as principal. Established in 1932 to serve the pineapple plantation community, Kipapa Elementary serves a diverse population of students, where some 52% of students receive free or reduced-priced lunches. Through the years, Yogi has fostered an “‘ohana culture” where students, families and community members feel welcomed. It is this strong relationship with the community that has provided the most support to the school. Prior to the start of each school year, the school’s community partners donate school supplies and clothing for the approximately one-third of students who are unable to afford new supplies. It was this community support that also helped to achieve the school’s goal of providing technological devices to each student.


As the award recipient, Yogi plans to use the monies to redesign the school library for the use of the extended Kipapa ‘ohana. This would give the entire Kipapa community access to adult education classes, after-school and evening access to technology, and supplies for projects for students from kindergarten through seniors in high school and even college. This would help to alleviate the many barriers Kipapa area students and families encounter and offer support and options to further their education, become college- and career-ready and prepare them for a positive future.

Other nominees included:

  • Dale Arakaki, Pauoa Elementary School, O‘ahu
  • Erik Burkman, Kalaheo Elementary School, Kaua‘i
  • Disa Hauge, Waianae High School, O‘ahu
  • Catherine Kilborn, Baldwin High School, Maui
  • Robin Martin, Moanalua High School, O‘ahu
  • Cindy Otsu, Kapolei Elementary School, O‘ahu
  • James Rippard, Kailua Elementary School, O‘ahu
  • Aaron Tominaga, Lehua Elementary School, O‘ahu
  • Bernadette Tyrell, Castle High School, O‘ahu


Sponsored Content

Subscribe to our Newsletter

Stay in-the-know with daily or weekly
headlines delivered straight to your inbox.


This comments section is a public community forum for the purpose of free expression. Although Big Island Now encourages respectful communication only, some content may be considered offensive. Please view at your own discretion. View Comments