Rep. Gabbard Nominates Two Big Island Students to U.S Service Academies

Listen to this Article
2 minutes
Loading Audio... Article will play after ad...
Playing in :00

Congresswoman Tulsi Gabbard (Hawai‘i-02) announced on Wednesday, March 14, 2018, her nominations to the U.S. military service academies for classes entering summer 2018.

Kamehameha Schools Hawaiʻi student Saydee Aganus, a Hilo resident, has been selected to enter the United States Military Academy.

Konawaena High School student Ragan Leslie of Kealakekua has been selected to enter the United States Naval Academy.

After an exhaustive application and interview process, she nominated 25 residents of Hawai‘i’s Second Congressional District. Their applications are now being considered for final selection by the United States Military Academy at West Point, the United States Naval Academy and the United States Air Force Academy.


“I am honored to nominate 25 aspiring servant leaders to represent Hawai‘i and attend our nation’s respected military service academies,” said Rep. Gabbard. “These women and men are Hawai‘i’s best and brightest who have raised their hands to serve our country in uniform. Each nominee has demonstrated significant leadership qualities, academic commitment, and a personal commitment to service. I wish each of these nominees the very best in the final weeks of the selection process and in their promising futures.”

Congresswoman Gabbard nominated the following individuals to attend a U.S. Military Service Academy:

Nominations by Name, School, Hometown


United States Military Academy

Saydee Aganus, Kamehameha Schools Hawaiʻi, Hilo
Jack Machorek, Kauaʻi High School, Kalaheo
Keona Conroy-Humphrey, Lanaʻi High School, Lanaʻi City
Jasmine Conroy-Humphrey, Lanaʻi High School, Lanaʻi City
Aaron Ines, Kapolei High School, Kapolei
Larissa Tsai, Kapaʻa High School, Kapaʻa
Michael Taylor, Kahuku High School, Kāneʻohe
Jordan Jones St. Andrew’s Priory School, Waipahu
Eva Olson, Lahainaluna High School, Lahaina

United States Naval Academy


Ragan Leslie, Konawaena High School, Kealakekua
Miyu‘u Handa, Kalaheo High School, Kailua
Peter Stiglitz, Jamestown High School, Kapolei
Elizabeth Rooks, Punahou School, Kailua
Ty Williams, Kamehameha Schools Kapālama, Kailua
Justin Shuman, Le Jardin Academy, Kāneʻohe
Jordan Elliott, Kalaheo High School, Kailua
Camryn Ban, Maui High School, Kahului
Nathaniel Barton, Le Jardin Academy, Kailua
Ernesto Arizala, Waipahu High School, Waipahu

United States Air Force Academy

Caroline Pickart, Kalaheo High School, Kāneʻohe
Quade L. Aui, Kamehameha Schools Kapālama, Kāneʻohe
Kainoa Gnos, Le Jardin Academy, Kailua
Kiana Whitmore, Kalaheo High School, Kailua
Christian Lopez, Kapolei High School, Kapolei
Shaina Uyechi, King Kekaulike High School, Makawao

Each year, Rep. Gabbard nominates Hawaiʻi candidates for appointment to the U.S Service Academies. The nomination application period opens May 15th of each year for candidates who are high school juniors and will be seniors the following school year, or who have already graduated. Nomination does not guarantee an appointment. The honor of attending a Military Service Academy comes with the obligation and commitment to serve in the military for a minimum of five years upon graduation. More information about the nominations process is available here.

Sponsored Content

Subscribe to our Newsletter

Stay in-the-know with daily or weekly
headlines delivered straight to your inbox.


This comments section is a public community forum for the purpose of free expression. Although Big Island Now encourages respectful communication only, some content may be considered offensive. Please view at your own discretion. View Comments