Four Hawai‘i Island Students Will Enter U.S. Military Academies

Listen to this Article
3 minutes
Loading Audio... Article will play after ad...
Playing in :00

Four Hawai‘i Island high school graduates of been accepted into prestigious U.S. Military Academies nationwide.

They are: Jennifer Gervais of Hilo High School, Charlotte Taylor of Kealakehe High School, Ragan Leslie and Lawrence Barrett of Konawaena High School.

Gervais will attend U.S. Military Academy (West Point); Taylor will enter U.S. Air Force Academy; Leslie has been accepted to the U.S. Naval Academy Prepatory School; and Barrett will be attending U.S. Air Force Academy Preparatory School.


The four high school graduates are among a group of 47 Hawai‘i students and prior enlisted military members accepted into competitive U.S. service schools. Of that number, 30 of the students have been accepted into U.S. military academies and 17 have been accepted into U.S. military preparatory schools.


“Each year thousands of students, from across the country, who have demonstrated strong academic achievement, outstanding character and are committed to serving the nation apply to these prestigious military academies that have a limited number of available slots,” said David Carey, MAC chairman. “We were pleased to see such a diverse group that came from both public and private schools from across the state. We wish them all success as they enter their respective academies in the fall and would like to thank them for their commitment to serving our nation.”

Hawai‘i students accepted into U.S. Air Force Academy (from left): Matthew Kop, Kaalakaiopono Faurot, Charlotte Taylor, Caleb Soo Hoo, Mark Meno, Micah Vannatta, Trenton Kearney, Chloe Camello, Tessa Barbosa. Photo courtesy of Military Affairs Council.

Of the 30 students accepted into U.S. military academies, 24 and their parents were honored during a reception hosted by the Military Affairs Council (MAC) of the Chamber of Commerce Hawai‘i on May 31, at the ‘Oahu Country Club.

Members of the MAC and alumni of U.S. military academies attended the reception to honor the applicants as they prepare to attend U.S. Military Academy (West Point), U.S. Naval Academy, U.S. Coast Guard Academy, U.S. Air Force Academy, the U.S. Military Academy Preparatory School, U.S. Naval Academy Preparatory School and U.S. Air Force Academy Preparatory School.

These institutions prepare college-aged students to become officers of the U.S. armed forces. Acceptance into these academies and schools is highly competitive. In addition, Members of Congress nominate candidates to the U.S. Military Academy, U.S. Naval Academy, U.S. Air Force Academy and U.S. Merchant Marine Academy.


The following students were accepted into U.S. military academies and preparatory schools:

U.S. Military Academy

  • Samuel Chase (Hanalani School 2017)
  • Anthony Corey (Kalaheo High School 2017)
  • Kainalu Gandia (Kapaa High School 2016/U.S. Military Academy Prep School)
  • Jennifer Gervais (Hilo High School 2017)
  • Devon Hartsell (Waimea High School 2016/Greystone Prep)
  • Stephen Krejci (U.S. Army)
  • Alexander Lee (Mililani High School 2017)
  • Ana Oglivie (Iolani School 2017)
  • Jackson Xu (Roosevelt High School 2017)

U.S. Naval Academy

  • Zachary Bell (University Laboratory School 2017)
  • Julia Boykin (Kalaheo High School 2017)
  • Cagla Brennan (Iolani School 2017)
  • Alema Kapoi (Kamehameha Schools-Kapalama 2016/U.S. Naval Academy Prep School)
  • Keoni-Kordell Makekau (Iolani School 2016/U.S. Naval Academy Prep School)
  • Tyler McGill (U.S. Navy)
  • Brent Naito (Damien Memorial School 2017)
  • Gregory Robbeloth (U.S. Marine Corps)
  • Peyton Sommer (Punahou School 2017)
  • Harlie Stone (Haleakala Waldorf School 2017)

U.S. Air Force Academy

  • Tessa Barbosa (Punahou School 2017)
  • Chloe Camello (Sacred Hearts Academy 2017)
  • Kaalakaiopono Faurot (Punahou 2017)
  • Bianca Gendreau (Le Jardin Academy 2017)
  • Trenton Kearney (Home School 2017)
  • Matthew Kop (Punahou School 2017)
  • Mark Meno (Moanalua High School 2017)
  • Caleb Soo Hoo (Baldwin High School 2017)
  • Charlotte Taylor (Kealakehe High School 2017)
  • Micah Vannatta (Aiea High School 2016/Northwest Prep)

U.S. Coast Guard Academy

  • Adalea Severs (Radford 2017)

U.S. Military Academy Preparatory School

  • Caleb Burnett (Damien Memorial School 2017)
  • Amadou Kone (Radford High School 2017)
  • Randy McKenzie (U.S. Army)
  • Sean Michael (Mililani 2017)
  • Khoi Phan (U.S. Army)
  • Anessa Ridley (Moanalua High School 2017)
  • Brandon Roy (U.S. Army)

U.S. Naval Academy Preparatory School

  • Brendon Brown (U.S. Marine Corps)
  • Andreas Casillas (Radford High School 2017)
  • Saiaiga Fautunu (Iolani School 2017)
  • Ragan Leslie (Konawaena High School 2017)
  • Mark Marpaung (U.S. Marine Corps)

U.S. Air Force Academy Preparatory School

  • Quade Aiu (Kamehameha Schools-Kapalama 2017)
  • Lawrence Barrett (Konawaena High School 2017)
  • Farrel Ekau, Jr. (Kamehameha Schools-Kapalama 2017)
  • Kainoa Gnos (Le Jardin Academy 2017)
  • Nakoa Pauole (Kamehameha Schools-Kapalama 2017)

Sponsored Content

Subscribe to our Newsletter

Stay in-the-know with daily or weekly
headlines delivered straight to your inbox.


This comments section is a public community forum for the purpose of free expression. Although Big Island Now encourages respectful communication only, some content may be considered offensive. Please view at your own discretion. View Comments