Nominees for U.S. Service Academies Announced

Listen to this Article
2 minutes
Loading Audio... Article will play after ad...
Playing in :00

U.S. Sen. Brian Schatz (D-Hawai‘i) announced the names of 43 students nominated to attend one of the nation’s service academies, including students from the Big Island.

The four service academies are the United States Air Force Academy, the United States Military Academy, the United States Naval Academy and the United States Merchant Marine Academy.

“These nominees are some of Hawai‘i’s best and brightest students and represent a new generation of future military leaders,” said Sen. Schatz. “I admire these students for their courage and for their commitment to serve our country.”

Sen. Brian Schatz. Courtesy photo.

Service Academy nominees were selected by a panel that included Allen Hoe, a decorated Vietnam War veteran and current Civilian Aide to the Secretary of the Army for East Hawai‘i.


Applicants were considered based on their ability to successfully meet the rigorous demands for the undergraduate education and training of officers of the United States Armed Forces, as well as their demonstrated leadership skills through athletics and other organizations, and an overall commitment to the military, the community and our country. Nominees are now being considered for appointment by the U.S. Service Academies.

The following nominees were named for consideration into our nation’s service academies:

  • Ragan Leslie, Kealakekua (Hawai‘i), Konawaena High School
  • Edward-James Adachi, Honolulu, Saint Louis School
  • Bailey Alabanza, Kailua, Iolani School
  • Keeanna Andres, Kaneohe, Kamehameha Schools Kapalama
  • Nicholas Balabis, Kaneohe, Kalaheo High School
  • Tessa Joy Barbosa, Honolulu, Punahou School
  • Zachary Bell, Aiea, University Laboratory School
  • Julia Boykin, Ewa Beach, Kalaheo High School
  • Cagla Brennan, Waipahu, Iolani School
  • Caleb Burnett, Aiea, Damien Memorial High School
  • Andreas Casillas, Honolulu, Radford High School
  • Jared Castaneda, Honolulu, Saint Louis School
  • Anthony Corey, Kailua, Kalaheo High School
  • Saiaiga Fautanu, Ewa Beach, Iolani School
  • Kaalakaiopono Faurot, Ewa Beach, Punahou School
  • Jolie Fujita, Honolulu, Punahou School
  • Kainalu Gandia, Kapaa (Kauai), Kapa‘a High School (West Point Preparatory School)
  • Bianca Gendreau, Honolulu, Le Jardin Academy
  • Kainoa Gnos, Kailua, Le Jardin Academy
  • Devon Hartsell, Lawai (Kauai), Waimea High School (West Point Preparatory-Schreiner University)
  • Curtis Hayashi, Honolulu, Punahou School
  • David Holloway, Kapolei, Mililani High School
  • Zachary Hughes, Honolulu, Mid-Pacific Institute
  • Christopher Jenkins, Ewa Beach, Kamehameha Schools Kapalama
  • Zoey Johnson, Kailua, Punahou School
  • Kamaehu Kamaka, Kailua, Kamehameha Schools Kapalama
  • Amadou Kone, Honolulu, Radford High School
  • Matthew Kop, Honolulu, Punahou School
  • Scott Lam, Honolulu, Damien Memorial High School
  • Alexander Lee, Mililani, Mililani High School
  • Rayna Miranda, Honolulu, Roosevelt High School
  • Ana Oglivie, Kapolei, Iolani School
  • Anh-Thu Pham, Burke (Virginia), Lake Braddock High School
  • Keely Purington, Kailua, Kalaheo High School
  • Anessa Ridley, Honolulu, Moanalua High School
  • Tanner Ritchey, Ewa Beach, Kapolei High School
  • Jennifer Serrano Gervais, Hilo (Hawai‘i), Hilo High School
  • Peyton Sommer, Kailua, Punahou School
  • Caleb Soo Hoo, Kula (Maui), H.P. Baldwin High School
  • Alexander Springer, Kapolei, Kapolei High School (JAPAN)
  • Harlie Stone, Makawao (Maui) Haleakala Waldorf School
  • Jackson Xu, Honolulu, Roosevelt High School
  • Ariana York, Mililani, Mililani High School


Sponsored Content

Subscribe to our Newsletter

Stay in-the-know with daily or weekly
headlines delivered straight to your inbox.


This comments section is a public community forum for the purpose of free expression. Although Big Island Now encourages respectful communication only, some content may be considered offensive. Please view at your own discretion. View Comments