Men’s Golf: UH-Hilo Lands Two on All-Conference List

May 4, 2016, 2:41 PM HST
Listen to this Article
1 minute
Loading Audio...

University of Hawai'i at Hilo golfers Kyeton Littel (left) and Jared Kinoshita. UH-Hilo photos.

University of Hawai’i at Hilo golfers Kyeton Littel (left) and Jared Kinoshita. UH-Hilo photos.

Two University of Hawai’i at Hilo golfers were selected to the All-PacWest Men’s Golf Third Team list for the 2015-2016 season.

Freshman Jared Kinoshita and senior Kyeton Littel were named to the All-PacWest list on Tuesday. For Littel, from Kahului, Maui, it was his second all-conference award earned in his collegiate career. He was named to the All-PacWest First Team following his sophomore campaign.

Kinoshita, who hails from Bakersfiled, Calif., was a medalist at this year’s Hawai’i Challenge. He also finished in a tie for 34th place at the PacWest Conference men’s championship last month.

Littel completes his career with three top-ten finishes. His best showing this season came at the East/West Bay Area Invitational, where he earned a tie for fifth place in his only top-ten result of the season.

BYU-Hawai’i’s Brent Grant and Bob Owan were voted as the conference’s Golfer of the Year and Coach of the Year, respectively. Dixie State’s Andrew Chu was named Freshman of the Year.


The league’s coaches were responsible for voting for the All-PacWest Awards.


2016 All-PacWest Men’s Golf

First Team

Kavan Eubank (So.), California Baptist


Brent Grant (So.), BYU-Hawai’i

Donny Hopoi (So.), Dixie State

Ty Macias (So.), Dominican

Dane Nelson (So.), Dixie State

Second Team

Andrew Chu (Fr.), Dixie State

Oscar Frick (So.), Academy of Art

Greg Gonzalez (So.), California Baptist

Drew Nelson (Jr.), Dominican

Compton Pikari (Fr.), Dixie State

Third Team

Nicolas Herrera (Jr.), BYU-Hawai’i

Jared Kinoshita (Fr.), Hawai’i-Hilo

Kyeton Littel (Sr.), Hawai’i-Hilo

Dalton Stanger (Jr.), BYU-Hawai’i

Kenny You (Sr.), Dixie State

Golfer of the Year – Brent Grant, BYU-Hawai’i

Freshman of the Year – Andrew Chu, Dixie State

Coach of the Year – Bob Owan, BYU-Hawai’i

Subscribe to our Newsletter

Stay in-the-know with daily or weekly
headlines delivered straight to your inbox.
Mahalo for Subscribing


This comments section is a public community forum for the purpose of free expression. Although Big Island Now encourages respectful communication only, some content may be considered offensive. Please view at your own discretion. View Comments