Waveriders Lock Up All-BIIF FB Awards

Listen to this Article
2 minutes
Loading Audio... Article will play after ad...
Playing in :00

Occasionally, a team that doesn’t win a Big Island Interscholastic Federation championship in football may snag one of the major awards at the end of the season.

This year, Kealakehe didn’t win just one All-BIIF Division I award. The Waveriders won all of them.

The All-BIIF Division I Offensive Player of the Year award went to senior running back and slot receiver Riggs Kurashige. The versatile veteran missed several games this season due to injury, but was still able to rack up 493 rushing yards and 573 receiving yards. He scored a total of nine touchdowns on the year, including a punt return touchdown.

On the other side of the ball, junior Randy Hatori was one of a few Kealakehe defenders that were in the running for the All-BIIF Division I Defensive Player of the Year award. His defensive coordinator, Steve Cox, described the linebacker as his defense’s most valuable player.

Stats backed up the claim for Hatori’s all-league honor. He recorded 78 solo tackles, 36 assisted tackles, 13 tackles for loss, nine sacks, two fumble recoveries, two forced fumbles, and a defensive touchdown.

Head coach Sam Kekuaokalani won the All-BIIF Division I Coach of the Year. Kealakehe won the BIIF regular season championship, guided by a 30-29 double overtime win over Hilo on Oct. 2. The Waveriders fell to Hilo in the league championship game, falling short of the state tournament.


An argument for the top coaching honor could be made for Hilo Interim Head Coach Kaeo Drummundo. After head coach David Baldwin was placed on indefinite leave for undisclosed reasons, Drummundo took the reins of the team and helped the Vikings make a return trip to the state tournament.

Voting for the All-BIIF awards is determined by the league’s coaches.

BIIF Football All-League

First Team

Quarterback – Ka’ale Tiogangco (Hilo)


Running Backs – Riggs Kurashige (Kealakehe), Isaac Lerma (Hilo)

Wide Receivers – Kalei Tolentino-Perry (Hilo), Keaho Kaawa-Wilson (Hilo), Akoni Demello (Kealakehe), Anthony Trevino (Kealakehe)

Offensive Line – Seth Fukushima (Hilo), David Tuamoheloa (Kealakehe), Josiah Kia (Kealakehe), Cody Raymond (Hilo), Mafu Tei (Waiakea)

Defensive Line – David Pakele (Hilo), Malu Lapilio (Hilo), Isaac Kioa (Kealakehe), Joseph Kaopua (Kealakehe), Howard Cosare (Kealakehe)

Linebackers – Pulama Louis (Kealakehe), Randy Hatori (Kealakehe), Rylen Kaniaupio (Hilo), Noah Matsuura (Waiakea)


Defensive Backs – Klein Hao (Kealakehe), Dallas Mata (Hilo), Ka’aina’olu Lewis (Hilo), Sequoia Iona (Kealakehe)

Punter – Ka’aina’olu Lewis (Hilo)

Kicker – Kolby Martin (Kealakehe)

Kick Returner – Riggs Kurashige (Kealakehe)

Honorable Mention

Hilo – Kahale Huddleston, Kuresa Toledo, Pono Landford, Tausala Pola, Wela Mamone

Kealakehe – Anthony Vierra, BJ Mareko-Berdon, Bryton Lewi, Elijah Brouwer, Hiram Anakalea, Keanu Alu, Kobe Antolin, Markus DeGrate, Shayne Ichishita, Tyler Tyrpak

Kea’au – Kaina Vierra, Damian Scandrick, Dreq Agliam, Temaurai Border

Waiakea – Isaiah K-Aloha, Cody Cuba, Ethan MacBraun, Gehrig Octavio, Hunter Rapoza, Tevis Holi, Tyler Kepano

Sponsored Content

Subscribe to our Newsletter

Stay in-the-know with daily or weekly
headlines delivered straight to your inbox.


This comments section is a public community forum for the purpose of free expression. Although Big Island Now encourages respectful communication only, some content may be considered offensive. Please view at your own discretion. View Comments