Pipe Invitational is ‘On’: VIP Trip to Billabong Pipe Masters Awarded

Listen to this Article
3 minutes
Loading Audio... Article will play after ad...
Playing in :00

Big Island Now and Maui Now,​ in partnership with Rising Sun Solar​ and Sunrun,​ have announced the winner of the contest for a trip to the Billabong Pipe Masters being held on Oʻahu.

Harrison Tsai, originally from Maui but now residing on the Big Island, is the winner of a V.I.P. trip for two to the 45th Billabong Pipe Masters on Dec. 9 and 10.

Harrison Tsai, winner of the Billabong Pipe Masters VIP trip.

Harrison Tsai, winner of the Billabong Pipe Masters VIP trip. Tsai courtesy photo.

With a large swell on the horizon, contest organizers announced Wednesday that the start of the $100,000 Pipe Invitational will begin. The invitational features 32 surfers who will compete for two wildcards into the Billabong Pipe Masters in Memory of Andy Irons.

According to the World Surf Leauge, the Pipe Invitational was called on Wednesday morning and commenced at 8 a.m. in what organizers are calling “massive 10-to-15 foot surf at Pipeline.”

WSL Commissioner Kieren Perrow wished competitors luck saying, “We’re looking forward to a great day of competition.”

The WSL reports that whoever advances through today’s Pipe Invitational will have a special role to play in the main event as they will draw one of six remaining WSL Title contenders in the opening rounds of competition.

In the running for the 2015 WSL Title, which will be decided at the Billabong Pipe Masters are three-time WSL Champion and current Jeep Rankings’ Leader Mick Fanning (AUS), Filipe Toledo (BRA), Adriano de Souza (BRA), reigning WSL Champion Gabriel Medina (BRA), Owen Wright (AUS) and defending Pipe Master Julian Wilson (AUS).

The Pipe Invitational and Billabong Pipe Masters will be webcast LIVE on the WSL website and on the WSL app.


Pipe Invitational Round 1 Match-Ups:
Heat 1: Jack Freestone (AUS), Sunny Garcia (HAW), Griffin Colapinto (USA), Nathan Fletcher (USA)

Heat 2: Mason Ho (HAW), Dane Reynolds (USA), Gavin Gillette (HAW), Makai McNamara (HAW)

Heat 3: Ian Walsh (HAW), Joel Centeio (HAW), Kaimana Jaquias (HAW), Mikey Bruneau (HAW)

Heat 4: Jack Robinson (AUS), Kalani David (HAW), Hank Gaskell (HAW), Isaiah Moniz (HAW)

Heat 5: Ezekiel Lau (HAW), Seth Moniz (HAW), Alex Smith (HAW), Nathan Florence (HAW)


Heat 6: Josh Moniz (HAW), Kiron Jabour (HAW), Jamie O’Brien (HAW), Myles Padaca (HAW)

Heat 7: Granger Larsen (HAW), Kaito Kino (HAW), Kekoa Cazimero (HAW), Evan Valiere (HAW)

Heat 8: Tanner Hendrickson (HAW), Billy Kemper (HAW), Olamana Eleogram (HAW), Luke Shepardson (HAW)

Billabong Pipe Masters Round 1 Match-Ups:
Heat 1: Italo Ferreira (BRA), Adrian Buchan (AUS), Glenn Hall (IRL)

Heat 2: Owen Wright (AUS), Jadson Andre (BRA), Dusty Payne (HAW)


Heat 3: Gabriel Medina (BRA), Keanu Asing (HAW), TBD

Heat 4: Adriano de Souza (BRA), Michel Bourez (PYF), TBD

Heat 5: Filipe Toledo (BRA), Kolohe Andino (USA), TBD

Heat 6: Mick Fanning (AUS), Sebastian Zietz (HAW), TBD

Heat 7: Julian Wilson (AUS), Kai Otton (AUS), Ricardo Christie (NZL)

Heat 8: Jeremy Flores (FRA), Matt Wilkinson (AUS), Jordy Smith (ZAF)

Heat 9: Kelly Slater (USA), Taj Burrow (AUS), C.J. Hobgood (USA)

Heat 10: Nat Young (USA), John John Florence (HAW), Brett Simpson (USA)

Heat 11: Bede Durbidge (AUS), Wiggolly Dantas (BRA), Adam Melling (AUS)

Heat 12: Josh Kerr (AUS), Joel Parkinson (AUS), Miguel Pupo (BRA)

Sponsored Content

Subscribe to our Newsletter

Stay in-the-know with daily or weekly
headlines delivered straight to your inbox.


This comments section is a public community forum for the purpose of free expression. Although Big Island Now encourages respectful communication only, some content may be considered offensive. Please view at your own discretion. View Comments