Konawaena Sweeps BIIF DII Football Awards

Listen to this Article
2 minutes
Loading Audio... Article will play after ad...
Playing in :00

The 2015 Konawaena Wildcats football season will be remembered for its return to league championship glory and its first ever state tournament victory.

With those results comes a clean sweep of the Big Island Interscholastic Federation’s Division II All-League major awards, as announced last week by the league.

Konawaena (11-2) was led by first year head coach Brad Uemoto, recipient of this year’s BIIF Division II Coach of the Year award. Uemoto was the team’s offensive coordinator prior to being promoted. He replaced Cliff Walters, who retired after last season.

Leading the charge on the offensive end was sophomore quarterback Austin Ewing, who was named the BIIF Division II Offensive Player of the Year. He threw for 2,250 yards on the season with 30 touchdowns and just six interceptions. He also rushed for two more scores.

Ewing did not play in Konawaena’s only league loss, a shutout at the hands of Kamehameha-Hawai’i, after suffering a head injury against Kealakehe. In the Wildcats’ only other loss, a heart-breaking defeat to Radford in the First Hawaiian Bank/Hawai’i High School Athletic Association Division II Football Semifinals, Ewing tossed five touchdown passes.

Senior Cameron Howes was named the BIIF Division II Defensive Player of the Year. The versatile defensive back recorded 68 total tackles, two sacks, and three interceptions.


Coaches from each of the league’s Division II schools were responsible for voting in the All-BIIF awards.

BIIF Football All League 2015

First Team

Quarterback – Austin Ewing (Konawaena)

Running Backs – Kaeo Batacan (Kamehameha-Hawai’i), Algene Kelekolio (Konawaena)


Receivers – Cameron Howes (Konawaena), Bayley-Allen Manliguis (Kamehameha-Hawai’i), Kainalu Whitney (Kamehameha-Hawai’i), Justin Perry (Hawai’i Preparatory Academy)

Offensive Line – Russel Montibon (Kamehameha-Hawai’i), Kanaiela Decoito (Kamehameha-Hawai’i), Joyden Madriaga (Kamehameha-Hawai’i), Jake Unger (Konawaena), Justin Banagan-Brock (Konawaena)

Defensive Line – Russel Montibon (Kamehameha-Hawai’i), Austin Santos-Johnson (Konawaena), Wayne Dacalio (Kamehameha-Hawai’i), Torin Tuppein (Konawaena), Trey Basque (Konawaena).

Linebackers – Anthony Palleschi (Hawai’i Preparatory Academy), Iokua Manuia (Kamehameha-Hawai’i), Logan Canda (Konawaena), Kaenan Kaono (Honoka’a), Lukela Chin (Kamehameha-Hawai’i)

Defensive Backs – Cameron Howes (Konawaena), David Kalili (Kamehameha-Hawai’i), Bayley-Allen Manliguis (Kamehameha-Hawai’i), Kayson Mahiai (Konawaena)


Punter – Cameron Howes (Konawaena)

Kickers – Alex Brost (Hawai’i Preparatory Academy), Jaisten Cabatbat (Kamehameha-Hawai’i)

Kick Returner – Kayson Mahiai (Konawaena)

Honorable Mention

Honoka’a – Daynan Kauhi, Jonathan Charbonneau, Jose Mariques, Micah Lorenzo, Nainoa Falk, Ocean Guerpo-Beamer, Opeka Liftee, Riley Rechiro, Samuel Johnston, Shane Batalona, Trent Tavares, Trueston Andrade

Kamehameha-Hawai’i – Kailikea Kekuawela, Dallas Duarte, Makana Manoa, Noah Manu Wengler, Tre Evans-Dumaran, Sedrick Mahi

Hawai’i Preparatory Academy – Kana’i Gaughen, Kevin Durkin, Kilinahe Grace

Konawaena – Dalon Freitas, Jordan Kikugawa, Kamakana Ching, Micah Laban, Paka Cacoulidis, Pono Kane, Tristan Fleming-Nazara, Zach Kaiwi

Offensive Player of the Year – Austin Ewing (Konawaena)

Defensive Player of the Year – Cameron Howes (Konawaena)

Coach of the Year – Brad Uemoto (Konawaena)

Sponsored Content

Subscribe to our Newsletter

Stay in-the-know with daily or weekly
headlines delivered straight to your inbox.


This comments section is a public community forum for the purpose of free expression. Although Big Island Now encourages respectful communication only, some content may be considered offensive. Please view at your own discretion. View Comments