Featured Articles

Frodeno, Ryf Win 2015 Ironman World Championship

October 10, 2015, 6:31 PM HST
* Updated October 10, 6:39 PM
Listen to this Article
1 minute
Loading Audio...

A year ago, Germany’s Jan Frodeno and Switzerland’s Daniela Ryf stood at the medal stand at the Ironman World Championship, not as winners, but as runners-up to champions Sebastian Kienle and Mirinda Carfrae.

This year, Frodeno and Ryf stood at the top of the podium at the 2015 Ironman World Championships, presented by GoPro.

Frodeno, who took home the bronze medal last year, finished first with a time of 8:14:40, beating out fellow countryman Andreas Raelert, who had a finishing time of 8:17:43. Kienle, also from Germany, finished in eighth place with a time of 8:29:43.

Ryf, last year’s women’s runner-up, turned in a time of 8:57:57. She comfortably finished ahead of Great Britian’s Rachel Joyce, who clocked in at 9:10:59.

The top finisher from the United States was Timothy O’Donnell, who placed third in the men’s division with a time of 8:18:50. He beat out fellow American Andy Potts, who ended his race in a time of 8:21:25.


Hawai’i’s first finisher was Thomas Wipp, who was selected to participate in the race in the Ironman World Championship Hawai’i Drawing. The Waikoloa resident completed the Ironman in 10:49:52.


The cut-off time for finishers in the race is Midnight Sunday. A total of 2,367 participants were entered in this year’s race.


This comments section is a public community forum for the purpose of free expression. Although Big Island Now encourages respectful communication only, some content may be considered offensive. Please view at your own discretion. View Comments


Get a quick summary of what’s happening on the Big Island with our daily & weekly email of news highlights.