Featured Articles

Kealakehe Alums Added to Polynesian CFB Watch List

July 29, 2015, 8:09 AM HST
* Updated July 29, 8:13 AM
Listen to this Article
2 minutes
Loading Audio...

Two Kealakehe High School graduates, Peni Vea and Psalm Wooching, have been named to the 2015 Polynesian College Football Player of the Year Award Watch List, Presented by Starwood Hotels & Resorts.

The award, which is selected by various members of the Polynesian Football Hall of Fame selection committee, recognizes Polynesian college football players who showcase “great ability and integrity.”

“There are nearly 300 players of Polynesian ancestry in Division I college football today,” said Jesse Sapolu, Polyesian Football Hall of Fame Chairman and Co-Founder.  “This award showcases their incredible talents and gives us a platform to celebrate their success as student-athletes.”

Vea, entering his senior year at UNLV.  is a 2011 graduate of Kealakehe. He was an Honorable Mention All-Mountain West selection last season after posting 88 tackles and 3.5 sacks. His tackle tally was good for second on the team.

Much is expected out of Vea this year. Phil Steele ranked him as a Preseason First Team All-MW selection this year, and Athlon Sports placed him on the Preseason Second Team All-MW squad. He is currently representing the Rebels at the conference’s media event in Las Vegas.


Wooching graduated a year after Vea did. The University of Washington junior outside linebacker recorded just two tackles in eight games played last season.


Last year’s winner of the inaugural Polynesian College Football Player of the Year Award was Marcus Mariota, who was the quarterback at the University of Oregon. The Saint Louis High School graduate is currently signed with the Tennessee Titans.

This year’s award will be announced on Dec. 8. The formal presentation of the award will take place on Jan. 29, 2016 during the Polynesian Football Hall of Fame Enshrinement Weekend Celebration Dinner.

2015 Polynesian College Football Player of the Year Award Watch List


Siaosi Aiono (OL) – Utah

Kalei Auelua (DE) – New Mexico State

DeForest Buckner (DL) – Oregon

Kamalei Correa (DL) – Boise State

Su’a Cravens (LB) – USC

Ka’imi Fairbairn (K) – UCLA

Siale Fakailoatonga (TE) – Utah

Alex Fifita (OL) – Fresno State

Salamo Fiso (LB) – Arizona State

Isaiah Folasa-Lutui (OL) – New Mexico State

Tuni Kanuch (OL) – BYU

Nila Kasitati (G) – Oklahoma

Bronson Kaufusi (DL) – BYU

Ului Lapuaho (OL) – BYU

Sefo Liufau (QB) – Colorado

Toa Lobendahn (G) – USC

Tau Lotulelei (LB) – UNLV

Lowell Lotulelei (DT) – Utah

Laiu Moeakiola (LB) – Arizona State

Bryan Mone (DT) – Michigan

Manoa Pikula (LB) – BYU

Ian Seau (DE) – Nevada

Isaac Seumalo (OL) – Oregon State

Juju Smith (WR) – USC

Anu Solomon (QB) – Arizona

Ronnie Staley (OL) – Notre Dame

Christian Tago (LB) – San Jose State

Viane Talamaivao (G) – USC

Vi Teofilo (OL) – Arizona State

Mike Tuaua (DE) – TCU

Siosifa Tufunga (OL) – Washington

Travis Tuiloma (DL) – BYU

Kennedy Tulimasealii (DL) – Hawai’i

Halapoulivaati Vaitai (T) – TCU

Peni Vea (DB) – UNLV

Psalm Wooching (LB) – Washington

Subscribe to our Newsletter

Stay in-the-know with daily or weekly
headlines delivered straight to your inbox.
Mahalo for Subscribing


This comments section is a public community forum for the purpose of free expression. Although Big Island Now encourages respectful communication only, some content may be considered offensive. Please view at your own discretion. View Comments