UHH’s Pasek Closes Soccer Career With Honorable Mention Honors

November 12, 2014, 6:51 PM HST
* Updated November 12, 6:52 PM
Listen to this Article
3 minutes
Loading Audio...

University of Hawai’i at Hilo senior Kristine Pasek has added one final award to her list of soccer accomplishments.

Pasek was named to the 2014 All-PacWest Honorable Mention Team, announced Wednesday by the conference.

“She’s had a good career here,” said UH-Hilo Director of Soccer Lance Thompson. “She probably averaged 5-7 goals per season and is probably one of the top goal scorers in the history of the program. It’s nice to have her get recognized as she exits stage left.”

Pasek has earned weekly conference honors at least once in each of her last three seasons. After the 2013 season, she was named to the Academic All-PacWest Team and was selected to the All-PacWest Third Team.

This season, she scored six goals in 18 starts, including a game winner against Academy of Art University on Sept. 27.


Thompson was surprised, though, that there were no other Vulcans on any list.


“I thought, maybe, we would’ve got more attention with a couple of other players, especially ones that played on the back line, but it didn’t work out that way for us this year,” Thompson explained.

UH-Hilo finished the 2014 season with a 7-5-6 record. The Vulcans were 4-4-4 in PacWest action.

2014 All-PacWest Women’s Soccer Team


First Team

Erika Ellis (Forward) – Hawai’i Pacific

Justene Kesterson (Forward) – California Baptist

Jennifer Mason (Forward) – Dixie State

Lindsay Vesling (Forward) – California Baptist

Mayra Almazan (Midfielder) – Azusa Pacific

Massiel Castellanos (Midfielder) – Notre Dame de Namur

Audrianna DeGraw (Midfielder) – California Baptist

Logan Chan (Defender) – Azusa Pacific

Claire Mathews (Defender) – Point Loma Nazarene

Dottie Rhoten (Defender) – Point Loma Nazarene

Ariel Oriarte (Goalkeeper) – Point Loma Nazarene

Second Team

Twyla Hamasaki (Forward) – Chaminade

Shelby Murphy (Forward) – Point Loma Nazarene

Ashkyn Ubongen (Forward) – Hawai’i Pacific

Bianka Garcia (Midfielder) – Fresno Pacific

Mckenna Kimball (Midfielder) – Dominican

Sami Swanson (Midfielder) – Point Loma Nazarene

Jenna Thomason (Midfielder) – Fresno Pacific

Caressa Archie (Defender) – Fresno Pacific

Mikala Anuhea Gillis (Defender) – California Baptist

Riley Phillips (Defender) – California Baptist

Sara Escobedo (Goalkeeper) – California Baptist

Third Team

Lexi Cameau (Forward) – Hawai’i Pacific

Rea Laudat (Forward) – Academy of Art

Jessioa Santos (Forward) – Notre Dame de Namur

Jasmine Arollo (Midfielder) – Dixie State

Lauren Wallberg (Midfielder) – California Baptist

Rachel Witz (Midfielder) – California Baptist

Mindi Beckstrom (Defender) – Dixie State

Alyssa Nakaguchi (Defender) – Fresno Pacific

Morgan Pearce (Defender) – Point Loma Nazarene

Silvia Sanchez (Defender) – California Baptist

Danica Nusink (Goalkeeper) – Dixie State

Honorable Mention

Kimberly Allard (Forward) – California Baptist

McKenzie Evans (Forward) – BYU-Hawai’i

Erica Gonzalez (Forward) – Dixie State

Kristine Pasek (Forward) – Hawai’i Hilo

Allyn Brown (Midfielder) – Azusa Pacific

Louise Fillingham (Midfielder) – Academy of Art

Tara Kracy (Midfielder) – Point Loma Nazarene

Amber Rodriguez (Midfielder) – Fresno Pacific

Kendra Corsberg (Defender) – Dominican

Emily Fox (Defender) – Dixie State

Megan Hanson (Defender) – Dominican

Sierra Kadooka (Defender) – Hawai’i Pacific

Hayley Patterson (Defender) – Azusa Pacific

Courtney Shutts (Defender) – California Baptist

Player of the Year – Lindsay Vesling (California Baptist)

Defender of the Year – Claire Mathews (Point Loma Nazarene)

Goalkeeper of the Year – Ariel Oriarte (Point Loma Nazarene)

Freshman of the Year – Sami Swanson (Point Loma Nazarene)

Newcomer of the Year – Justene Kesterson (California Baptist)

Coach of the Year – Tim Hall (Point Loma Nazarene)

Subscribe to our Newsletter

Stay in-the-know with daily or weekly
headlines delivered straight to your inbox.
Mahalo for Subscribing


This comments section is a public community forum for the purpose of free expression. Although Big Island Now encourages respectful communication only, some content may be considered offensive. Please view at your own discretion. View Comments