Featured Articles

Yamauchi, UH-Hilo Win Dennis Rose Invitational

November 2, 2014, 10:25 AM HST
Listen to this Article
2 minutes
Loading Audio...

University of Hawai’i at Hilo senior Dalen Yamauchi was a key contributor to his team’s victory at the 2014 Dennis Rose Invitational, held Friday and Saturday at the Waikoloa Kings’ Course.

Yamauchi also had an individual title to chase.

St. Edward’s Dillon Van Essen shot a final round 70 to match Yamauchi at 219, forcing a playoff. Van Essen hit the sand trap on his second shot, but Yamauchi took control, landing fifteen feet from the pin. He was able to two-putt in for the win.

Yamauchi’s win was the first of his collegiate career. Two seasons ago, he was tied for first at the PacWest Conference Championship in Arizona before falling in a playoff to Grand Canyon’s Jimmy Kozikowski.

Yamauchi has been no stranger to the top of the leaderboard at the Dennis Rose Invitational. He’s finished no worse than a tie for seventh in his four years at the tournament. In his last two tries, he finished in a tie for third.


UH-Hilo beat St. Edward’s by three strokes to win the team championship. Nick Matsushima finished seventh with a 228. Kyeton Littel placed in a tie for 16th with a 233.


2014 Dennis Rose Invitational

Team Standings – Final

1. Hawai-Hilo – 916


2. St. Edward’s – 919

3. Cal State Stanislaus – 920

4. Wilmington (DE) – 929

5. Western Washington – 932

6. Northwest Nazarene – 940

7. Academy of Art University – 941

8. Cal State Dominguez Hills – 942

9. BYU-Hawai’i – 946

10. Sonoma State – 952

11. Chaminade – 954

12. Notre Dame de Namur – 965

13. Hawai’i Pacific – 979

Individual Top 10 Standings – Final

T1. Dalen Yamauchi (Hawai’i-Hilo) – 219*

T1. Dillon Van Essen (St. Edward’s) – 219

3. Ken Miyata (Notre Dame de Namur) – 222

T4. Jordan Lamb (Wilmington) – 224

T4. Chris Hatch (Western Washington) – 224

6. Anthony Manguray (CSU-Stanislaus) – 225

7. Nick Matsushima (Hawai’i-Hilo) – 228

T8. Freddy Braun (Wilmington) – 229

T8. Zachary Braunthal (Hawai’i) – 229

T10. Jay Hogan (St. Edward’s) – 230

T10. Inoka Kahawaii (BYU-Hawai’i) – 230

T10. Ric Yamamoto (Hawai’i-Hilo) – 230

Subscribe to our Newsletter

Stay in-the-know with daily or weekly
headlines delivered straight to your inbox.
Mahalo for Subscribing


This comments section is a public community forum for the purpose of free expression. Although Big Island Now encourages respectful communication only, some content may be considered offensive. Please view at your own discretion. View Comments