Enriques Inducted Into HHSAA Hall of Honor

Listen to this Article
2 minutes
Loading Audio... Article will play after ad...
Playing in :00

HONOLULU – Kamehameha-Hawai`i graduate Evan Enriques was one of 12 distinguished student athletes inducted into the Enterprise Rent-A-Car/Honolulu Star-Advertiser Hall of Honor, hosted by the Hawai`i High School Athletic Association. The induction dinner was held Sunday night at the Ala Moana Hotel.

Enriques, the only Big Island athlete in this year’s class, joins a list of recent Kamehameha-Hawai`i students to be selected to the distinguished group, including Shaun Kagawa, Kolten Wong, and Reece Alnas.

Enriques will attend Stanford university with a volleyball scholarship. While he doesn’t get there until mid-September, he has been spending a lot of his time on Oahu with club volleyball practices and events.

A group of 17 people from across the state form the Hall’s selection committee. The group met in the middle of May to comb through each of the approximately 70 different applications before deciding on the class of 12 for 2014.

Each inductee received a $2,000 college scholarship from Enterprise Rent-A-Car.

The event was hosted by OC16 sports director Dave Vinton. His former KGMB-TV co-worker, Neil Everett, was the night’s keynote speaker. Everett now works in Los Angeles, where he co-hosts the late night edition of ESPN’s flagship show, SportsCenter.


Big Island committee member retires

Hugh Clark, a former news and sports reporter with the Hawai`i Tribune-Herald and Honolulu Advertiser, retired from his position on the Hall of Honor’s selection committee following this year’s event.

Clark, who was not able to attend Sunday’s ceremony, had been a part of the selection process for 31 years, dating back to the program’s first class in 1983. He was honored at the dinner with a plaque commemorating his dedication to the committee and his role in honoring the state’s most outstanding athletes.

Clark, along with current County of Hawai`i deputy planning director Bobby Command, have served as the Big Island’s voices on the committee. Other notable members of the group include chairman Clyde Mizumoto, former Seabury Hall athletic director Steve Colflesh, and 1987 Hall of Honor inductee Fran Villarmia-Kahawai.

Enterprise Rent-A-Car/Honolulu Star-Advertiser Hall of Honor inductees


Alyssa Bettendorf, Seabury Hall

Evan Enriques, Kamehameha-Hawai`i

Dayton Furuta, Mililani

Dakota Grossman, Seabury Hall

Sarah Liva, Mililani


Jasmine Mau, Punahou

Jacob McEnroe, Farrington

Alohi Robins-Hardy, Kamehameha-Kapalama

Ryan Stack, Kamehameha-Kapalama

Joshua Terao, Mid-Pacific Institute

Alyssa Tobita, Mililani

Larry “Tui” Tuileta, Punahou

Sponsored Content

Subscribe to our Newsletter

Stay in-the-know with daily or weekly
headlines delivered straight to your inbox.


This comments section is a public community forum for the purpose of free expression. Although Big Island Now encourages respectful communication only, some content may be considered offensive. Please view at your own discretion. View Comments