Kea`au HS Announces Athletic Award Winners

Listen to this Article
3 minutes
Loading Audio... Article will play after ad...
Playing in :00

Kea`au High School held its Spring Athletic Awards ceremony Tuesday, putting an bow on the 2013-2014 athletic season for the Cougars.

Kea`au holds three different awards presentations during the year, following the Fall, Winter, and Spring seasons.

Zephaniah Pavao and Daysha Alameda were named Male and Female Athletes of the Year during Tuesday’s awards ceremony. Charlie Belmes and Taylor Pocock were named Male and Female Scholar Athletes of the Year, while Edgar Ventura and Brianna Cadaoas were given the Athletic Director’s Award. The Male and Female Rookie of the Year Awards went to Jo-Joe Villa and Aiyana Wessels.

Pavao earned the Male Athlete of the Year award after an impressive season in judo. He was the Big Island Interscholastic Federation champion in the 285-pound weight class. He won the Hawai`i High School Athletic Association Judo Championships on Oahu in the same weight class, defeating Kalani’s James Lawhn.

Alameda, the Female Athlete of the Year at Kea`au, was the BIIF track and field individual champion in the high jump competition. She finished in a tie for ninth place in the same event at the Island Movers/HHSAA Track and Field Championships.

2014 Kea`au High School Athletic Awards


Baseball – Rason Martinez (Outstanding Athlete), Derek Kalani (Coach’s Award)

Baseball (JV) – Keian Kanetani (Outstanding Athlete), Ian Bowman (Coach’s Award)

Boys basketball – Edgar Ventura (Outstanding Athlete), Isian Segobia (Coach’s Award)

Boys basketball (JV) – Joshua Quero-Ondo (Outstanding Athlete), Keian Kanetani (Coach’s Award)

Girls basketball – Taylor Pocock (Outstanding Athlete), Jasmine Segobia (Coach’s Award)


Girls basketball (JV) – Daizha Gomes (Outstanding Athlete), April Pinyerd (Coach’s Award)

Boys bowling – Erik Arnold (Outstanding Athlete)

Girls bowling – Brianna Au (Outstanding Athlete)

Cheerleading – Brianna Cadaoas (Outstanding Athlete), Daysha Alameda (Coach’s Award)

Cheerleading (Competition team) – Mikele Pokakaa (Outstanding Athlete), Maelin Tamashiro (Coach’s Award)


Cheerleading (JV) – Christina Ulep-Samonte (Outstanding Athlete), Rianna Yoneda (Coach’s Award)

Boys cross country – Jeffrey Ferrell (Outstanding Athlete), Levi Albano (Coach’s Award)

Girls cross country – Hannah Medrano (Outstanding Athlete), Alexandra Vida (Coach’s Award)

Football – George Lucas-Tadeo (Outstanding Athlete), Jared Makaweo-Quihano (Coach’s Award)

Football (JV) – Paxton Rhyss (Outstanding Athlete), Jess Ramelb (Coach’s Award)

Boys judo – Kawaiuaolu Ronia (Outstanding Athlete), Dennis Oandasan (Coach’s Award)

Girls judo – Ebony Ayers (Outstanding Athlete), Aileen Umayas (Coach’s Award)

Boys canoe paddling – Byron Cachola (Outstanding Athlete), Kainalu Kiyuna (Coach’s Award)

Girls canoe paddling – Ola Amituanai (Outstanding Athlete), Ana Hall (Coach’s Award)

Boys soccer – Spencer Hanza (Outstanding Athlete), Rylan Aranaydo (Coach’s Award)

Boys soccer (JV) – Julius Manglona (Outstanding Athlete), Eric Tejada (Coach’s Award)

Girls soccer – Tiani Teanio (Outstanding Athlete), Alyssa Huihui (Coach’s Award)

Girls soccer (JV) – Meliana Auld-Paulo (Outstanding Athlete), Aiyana Wessels (Coach’s Award)

Softball – Shaniya Kamakea-Wong (Outstanding Athlete), Leshey Makuakane (Coach’s Award)

Softball (JV) – Caitlyn Calhoun (Outstanding Athlete), Amelia Kaneko (Coach’s Award)

Boys swimming – Elijah Castillo (Outstanding Athlete)

Girls swimming – Anuhea Ahuna (Outstanding Athlete), Kylie Bergen (Coach’s Award)

Boys tennis – Edgar Ventura (Outstanding Athlete), Christian Gacula (Coach’s Award)

Girls tennis – Daizha Gomes (Outstanding Athlete), Cierra Peneku (Coach’s Award)

Boys track and field – Jacob Romero (Outstanding Athlete), Christian Lawson (Coach’s Award)

Girls track and field – Daysha Alameda (Outstanding Athlete), Brianna Cadaoas (Coach’s Award)

Boys volleyball – Manawalea Awaa (Outstanding Athlete), Jesse Bossey (Coach’s Award)

Boys volleyball (JV) – Cyrus Carvalho-Sherman (Outstanding Athlete), Charles Caldwell-Kaai (Coach’s Award)

Girls volleyball – Tiani Teanio (Outstanding Athlete), Munirah Msikizi-Jackson (Coach’s Award)

Girls volleyball (JV) – Kahealani Torres (Outstanding Athlete), Cheyann Kaleohano (Coach’s Award)

Boys wrestling – Ha`aheo Chan (Outstanding Athlete), Judsen Asagra (Coach’s Award)

Girls wrestling – Ashlee Lopez (Outstanding Athlete), Kathrine Hann (Coach’s Award)

Male Athlete of the Year – Zephaniah Pavao

Female Athlete of the Year – Daysha Alameda

Male Scholar Athlete of the Year – Charlie Belmes

Female Scholar Athlete of the Year – Taylor Pocock

Athletic Director’s Award (Male) – Edgar Ventura

Athletic Director’s Award (Female) – Brianna Cadaoas

Male Rookie of the Year – Jo-Joe Villa

Female Rookie of the Year – Aiyana Wessels

Sponsored Content

Subscribe to our Newsletter

Stay in-the-know with daily or weekly
headlines delivered straight to your inbox.


This comments section is a public community forum for the purpose of free expression. Although Big Island Now encourages respectful communication only, some content may be considered offensive. Please view at your own discretion. View Comments